Wilfork, Mankins named to AP All-Pro

Vince Wilfork was named to the Associated Press All-Pro first team, a first for the nine-year veteran.

John Froschauer/AP

Vince Wilfork was named to the Associated Press All-Pro first team, a first for the nine-year veteran.

Patriots defensive tackle Vince Wilfork was named to the Associated Press All-Pro first team, a first for the nine-year veteran, and teammate Logan Mankins was named to the second team.

Wilfork had been named to the Pro Football Weekly and Pro Football Writers of America All-Pro team as well. He finished the regular season with 48 solo tackles, three sacks, two forced fumbles, and four fumble recoveries. He had earned second-team All-Pro nods in 2011, 2010, and 2007.


Despite missing six games this season, Mankins was selected to the second team. San Francisco’s Mike Iupati and New Orleans’ Jahri Evans were the first-team honorees, with Baltimore’s Marshal Yanda and Mankins on the second team.

This is the fifth time in the last six years that Mankins is a first- or second-team All-Pro; he was first-team in 2010.

Get Sports Headlines in your inbox:
The Globe's most recent sports headlines delivered to your inbox every morning.
Thank you for signing up! Sign up for more newsletters here

Patriots quarterback Tom Brady got three votes for All-Pro status, finishing third behind Denver’s Peyton Manning (43) and Green Bay’s Aaron Rodgers (4).

Tight end Rob Gronkowski (4 votes) came in third for his position, trailing Atlanta’s Tony Gonzalez (24) and Dallas’s Jason Witten (19).

Jerod Mayo received four votes at inside linebacker; Wes Welker, Sebastian Vollmer and Devin McCourty each received one vote at their respective positions.


Minnesota running back Adrian Peterson and Houston defensive end J.J. Watt were unanimous selections at their positions.

The AP All-Pro team is voted on by 50 NFL media members nationally and is far more respected than a Pro Bowl nod.

The full list of first- and second-team All-Pro teams:


First-team: Peyton Manning, DEN

Second-team: Aaron Rodgers, GB


First: Adrian Peterson, MIN (unanimous pick)

Second: Marshawn Lynch, SEA


First: Vonta Leach, Baltimore

Second: Jerome Felton, MIN


First: Calvin Johnson, DET and Brandon Marshall, CHI

Second: A.J. Green, CIN and Andre Johnson, HOU


First: Tony Gonzalez, ATL

Second: Jason Witten, DAL


First: Duane Brown, HOU and Ryan Clady, DEN

Second: Joe Thomas, CLE and Joe Staley, SF


First: Mike Iupati, SF and Jahri Evans, NO

Second: Marshal Yanda, BAL and Logan Mankins, NE


First: Max Unger, SEA

Second: Maurkice Pouncey, PIT


First: Blain Walsh, MIN

Second: Phil Dawson, CLE


First: Jacoby Jones, BAL

Second: David Wilson, NYG


First: J.J. Watt, HOU (unanimous pick) and Cameron Wake, MIA

Second: Justin Smith, SF and Julius Peppers, CHI


First: Geno Atkins, CIN and Vince Wilfork, NE

Second: Justin Smith, SF, Ndamukong Suh, DET and Haloti Ngata, BAL


First: Von Miller, DEN and Aldon Smith, SF

Second: Chad Greenway, MIN, Ahmad Brooks, SF, Clay Matthews, GB and DeMarcus Ware, DAL


First: Patrick Willis, SF and NaVorro Bowman, SF

Second: Daryl Washington, ARI and London Fletcher, WAS


First: Richard Sherman, SEA and Charles Tillman, CHI

Second: Champ Bailey, DEN and Tim Jennings, CHI


First: Earl Thomas, SEA and Dashon Goldson, SF

Second: Eric Weddle, SD and Jairus Byrd, BUF


First: Andy Lee, SF

Second: Thomas Morestead, NO

Loading comments...
Real journalists. Real journalism. Subscribe to The Boston Globe today.