You can now read 5 articles in a month for free on Read as much as you want anywhere and anytime for just 99¢.

Red Sox Live



▲  2nd Inning 0 outs


Hemingway/PEN fete at John F. Kennedy Library


Teju Cole (above), the 2012 award winner.

Continue reading below

Teju Cole, who won the 2012 PEN/Hemingway Award for his novel “Open City,’’ got a hand when he was called up to the podium to accept the honor at the Hemingway Foundation/PEN Award ceremony at the John F. Kennedy Presidential Library Sunday afternoon. Other writers who joined Cole on stage to be greeted by Ernest Hemingway’s son Patrick included PEN/Hemingway finalists Amy Waldman, author of “The Submission,’’ and Stephanie Powell Watts, author of “We Are Taking Only What We Need.’’ Yannick Murphy, Elizabeth Willis, and Mitch Zuckoff were also honored for winning 2012 Laurence L. & Thomas Winship/PEN New England Awards, which they earned, respectively, for fiction, poetry, and nonfiction. Massachusetts author Andre Dubus III, who was one of the PEN/Hemingway judges, gave the afternoon’s keynote address.

Loading comments...
Want each day's news headlines delivered fresh to your
inbox every morning? Just connect with us
in one of the following ways:
Please enter a valid email will never post anything without asking.
Privacy Policy
Subscriber Log In

You have reached the limit of 5 free articles in a month

Stay informed with unlimited access to Boston’s trusted news source.

  • High-quality journalism from the region’s largest newsroom
  • Convenient access across all of your devices
  • Today’s Headlines daily newsletter
  • Subscriber-only access to exclusive offers, events, contests, eBooks, and more
  • Less than 25¢ a week
Marketing image of
Marketing image of