You can now read 10 articles in a month for free on BostonGlobe.com. Read as much as you want anywhere and anytime for just 99¢.

The Boston Globe

Books

Book Review

‘The Art Forger’ by B.A. Shapiro

B. A. Shapiro’s new book “The Art Forger’’ is billed as a literary thriller. But the Boston-area author’s sixth novel offers no heart-pounding action, no breakneck pace, only a modicum of suspense, and an unlikely threat of violence toward the end. Fans of James Patterson, Tom Clancy, and Michael Crichton expecting an adrenalin rush are likely to be disappointed in Shapiro’s mostly leisurely pace, layers of back story, and lengthy excursions into the history and practitioners of art forgery.

What Shapiro does deliver is a satisfying, plot-driven novel of revelation, an intriguing, ladylike mystery with a puzzle or two at its core. It’s an engaging tale about art, cupidity, and a Faustian bargain, using as backdrop the real-life, still unsolved 1990 theft of 13 artworks from the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum.

Loading comments...

You have reached the limit of 10 free articles in a month

Stay informed with unlimited access to Boston’s trusted news source.

  • High-quality journalism from the region’s largest newsroom
  • Convenient access across all of your devices
  • Today’s Headlines daily newsletter
  • Subscriber-only access to exclusive offers, events, contests, eBooks, and more
  • Less than 25¢ a week