Theater & art

the 2013 tony awards

Will the Tony Awards spread a little sunshine to ‘Pippin’?

Sara Krulwich/The New York Times

“Kinky Boots” and “Matilda the Musical” racked up the most Tony Award nominations this year — 13 and 12, respectively — but the American Repertory Theater’s “Pippin” revival is right behind with 10. Directed by ART artistic director Diane Paulus, the production opened in Cambridge in January before transferring to Broadway this spring. Here’s how the competition shapes up in those 10 musical theater categories.

Best revival


“The Mystery of Edwin Drood”



Get Today's Headlines in your inbox:
The day's top stories delivered every morning.
Thank you for signing up! Sign up for more newsletters here

“Rodgers + Hammerstein’s Cinderella”

Best direction

Scott Ellis, “The Mystery of Edwin Drood”

Jerry Mitchell, “Kinky Boots”

Diane Paulus, “Pippin”


Matthew Warchus, “Matilda the

Best actress

Stephanie J. Block, “The Mystery of Edwin Drood”

Carolee Carmello, “Scandalous”

Valisia LeKae, “Motown the Musical”

Patina Miller, “Pippin”


Laura Osnes, “Rodgers + Hammerstein’s Cinderella”

Best featured actor

Charl Brown, “Motown the Musical”

Keith Carradine, “Hands on a Hardbody”

Will Chase, “The Mystery of Edwin Drood”

Gabriel Ebert, “Matilda the Musical”

Terrence Mann, “Pippin”

Best featured actress

Annaleigh Ashford, “Kinky Boots”

Victoria Clark, “Rodgers + Hammerstein’s Cinderella”

Andrea Martin, “Pippin”

Keala Settle, “Hands on a Hardbody”

Lauren Ward, “Matilda the Musical”

Best choreography

Andy Blankenbuehler, “Bring It On: The Musical”

Peter Darling, “Matilda the Musical”

Jerry Mitchell, “Kinky Boots”

Chet Walker, “Pippin”

Best scenic design

Rob Howell, “Matilda the Musical”

Anna Louizos, “The Mystery of
Edwin Drood”

Scott Pask, “Pippin”

David Rockwell, “Kinky Boots”

Best costume design

Gregg Barnes, “Kinky Boots”

Rob Howell, “Matilda the Musical”

Dominique Lemieux, “Pippin”

William Ivey Long, “Rodgers + Hammerstein’s Cinderella”

Best lighting design

Kenneth Posner, “Kinky Boots”

Kenneth Posner, “Pippin”

Kenneth Posner, “Rodgers + Hammerstein’s Cinderella”

Hugh Vanstone, “Matilda the Musical”

Best sound design

Jonathan Deans and Garth Helm, “Pippin”

Peter Hylenski, “Motown the Musical”

John Shivers, “Kinky Boots”

Nevin Steinberg, “Rodgers + Hammerstein’s Cinderella”