Theater & art

Neil Patrick Harris earns Hasty Pudding award

Host Neil Patrick Harris at the 65th Emmy Awards.

Kevin Winter/Getty Images

Host Neil Patrick Harris at the 65th Emmy Awards.

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. (AP) — Neil Patrick Harris is everything Harvard University’s Hasty Pudding Theatricals wants in its man of year.

He’s an award-winning actor of stage, television and film, a singer and dancer, a repeat host of both the Emmy and Tony awards and a magician.


On Thursday, Harris was named the collegiate acting troupe’s man of the year for his ‘‘lasting and impressive contributions to the world of entertainment.’’

‘‘With his enviable reputation as a host and showman, we look forward to hosting Mr. Harris for an entertaining and unforgettable evening to recognize his achievements,’’ Hasty Pudding President Tony Oblen said.

Get Today's Headlines in your inbox:
The day's top stories delivered every morning.
Thank you for signing up! Sign up for more newsletters here

Hasty Pudding Theatricals is the nation’s oldest undergraduate drama troupe, dating to the late 18th century. Harris will be given his pudding pot following a parade through Harvard Square and a roast scheduled for Feb. 7.

‘‘I assume this is for that pudding wrestling competition I won last April ... right?’’ Harris said in a statement. ‘‘It was dark and seemed quite seedy at the time — I'm stoked that it’s connected with Harvard. Fancy! Can’t wait.’’

The Emmy Award-winning actor made his name on television as child doctor ‘‘Doogie Howser, M.D.’’ and is more recently known for his role as the womanizing Barney in ‘‘How I Met Your Mother.’’


Harris has also appeared on stage and in film, including in the ‘‘Harold & Kumar’’ and ‘‘Smurfs’’ movies, and more recently mixed his love of magic and theater in directing ‘‘Nothing to Hide,’’ an unconventional magic show.

Last week, Helen Mirren was named Hasty Pudding woman of the year.

Previous winners include Katharine Hepburn, Julia Roberts, Jodie Foster, Steven Spielberg, Harrison Ford and Anthony Hopkins.

Last year’s winners were Marion Cotillard and Kiefer Sutherland.

Loading comments...
Real journalists. Real journalism. Subscribe to The Boston Globe today.
We hope you've enjoyed your free articles.
Continue reading by subscribing to for just 99¢.
 Already a member? Log in Home
Subscriber Log In

We hope you've enjoyed your 5 free articles'

Stay informed with unlimited access to Boston’s trusted news source.

  • High-quality journalism from the region’s largest newsroom
  • Convenient access across all of your devices
  • Today’s Headlines daily newsletter
  • Subscriber-only access to exclusive offers, events, contests, eBooks, and more
  • Less than 25¢ a week
Marketing image of
Marketing image of