You can now read 5 articles in a month for free on Read as much as you want anywhere and anytime for just 99¢.

Globe’s online products win 9 Murrow Awards

The Boston Globe won nine regional Edward R. Murrow Awards in the online news operation category, including the top spots for use of video, website, and writing, the Radio Television Digital News Association announced Thursday.

“Today, we see our job as telling stories with all the tools available to us, and video ranks among the most powerful,’’ said Globe editor Martin Baron. “These awards acknowledge our wholehearted commitment to multimedia coverage and to the remarkable skill and innovative spirit of our staff.’’

Continue reading below

The Globe won awards for stories including continuing video coverage of the capture and return of James “Whitey’’ Bulger, investigative video reporting on the high number of under the influence acquittals by Massachusetts judges, and a feature video on the sounds of the Deer Island sewage treatment plant.

It also won for its website, which launched in fall 2011.

The Globe won nine of the 10 regional awards, a first for an online news operation, according to the association.

Continue reading it below

“Digital news is making huge strides, as evidenced by the Globe’s nine winning entries for This is the first time in our history that a digital news operation led the way with the most regional Murrow awards and it speaks volumes about how our industry and RTDNA is transforming itself,’’ association chairman Kevin Benz said in a statement.

The Edward R. Murrow Awards, named for the legendary broadcast journalist and host of the CBS program “See It Now’’ in the 1950s, have been presented for “outstanding achievements in electronic journalism’’ since 1971.

“Murrow Award recipients demonstrate the spirit of excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the broadcast news profession,’’ the association said on its website.

Regional winners are automatically eligible for the national awards competition, which will be judged in June and presented in October at an awards dinner in New York.

Colin A. Young can be reached at
Loading comments...
Want each day's news headlines delivered fresh to your
inbox every morning? Just connect with us
in one of the following ways:
Please enter a valid email will never post anything without asking.
Privacy Policy
Subscriber Log In

You have reached the limit of 5 free articles in a month

Stay informed with unlimited access to Boston’s trusted news source.

  • High-quality journalism from the region’s largest newsroom
  • Convenient access across all of your devices
  • Today’s Headlines daily newsletter
  • Subscriber-only access to exclusive offers, events, contests, eBooks, and more
  • Less than 25¢ a week
Marketing image of
Marketing image of