You can now read 10 articles in a month for free on Read as much as you want anywhere and anytime for just 99¢.

The Boston Globe


music review

Christophers & Co. back in swing with Bach

The superb and superbly performed Bach program with which the Handel and Haydn Society is opening its 2012–2013 season begins with one of his most popular instrumental works, the Orchestral Suite No. 3 (with its “Air on the G String”). It closes with the magnificent “Magnificat.” In between: the brief, festive Cantata No. 71, “Gott ist mein König” (“God Is My King”); the Sinfonia from Cantata No. 18; the familiar “Jesus bleibet meine Freude” (“Jesu, Joy of Man’s ­Desiring”) chorale from Cantata No. 147; and the Sinfonia from Cantata No. 75. It’s all bound together by the key of D major (both the Suite and the “Magnificat”) and by joyfully squealing trumpets, which proclaim a secular majesty at the beginning and a ­sacred mystery at the end.

But even Bach doesn’t play itself. The Overture to the suite is emphatically double-dotted, or syncopated, in the French style; yet it needs to dance gracefully and seductively. Under artis­tic director Harry Christophers on Friday, the Handel and Haydn Period Orchestra made it do just that, with a big arc, lots of shading, chatty oboes in the trio, and raucous trumpets. The air was caressed. The gavotte and the bourrée were robust and springy; the gigue was all rowdy fun.

Loading comments...

You have reached the limit of 10 free articles in a month

Stay informed with unlimited access to Boston’s trusted news source.

  • High-quality journalism from the region’s largest newsroom
  • Convenient access across all of your devices
  • Today’s Headlines daily newsletter
  • Subscriber-only access to exclusive offers, events, contests, eBooks, and more
  • Less than 25¢ a week