Wampanoag election results confirmed


A recount in the Mashpee Wampanoag tribal election has confirmed the original results. The tribal Election Committee announced Saturday that the recount confirmed the results of the Feb. 24 election, in which Cedric Cromwell won a second four-year term as chairman, with 442 votes. The Taunton Daily Gazette reported that the only difference was that runner-up David Pocknett picked up one extra vote and finished with 243. Richard Oakley objected to the results after picking up just 23 votes. He did not gain any votes after the recount.

Loading comments...
Real journalists. Real journalism. Subscribe to The Boston Globe today.