Kowalski wins selectman’s race


Daniel H. Kowalski was elected to the Board of Selectmen in the only contested race in Tuesday’s annual town election. Kowalski will take the seat vacated by Ted Tiechert, who decided not to seek reelection after serving on the board for 12 years. Kowalski captured 1,145 votes, just shy of the top vote-getter, selectman Brian P. Major, who was reelected to a sixth consecutive term with 1,181 votes. The other candidates for the two seats were Ann T. Cobleigh, who got 681 votes; Paul L.D. Russell Jr., 330; and Larry Bruce, 293. Turnout for the election was low. Only 9 percent of the town’s 22,580 registered voters cast ballots, according to the town clerk’s office. -Brenda J. Buote

Loading comments...
Real journalists. Real journalism. Subscribe to The Boston Globe today.
We hope you've enjoyed your free articles.
Continue reading by subscribing to for just 99¢.
 Already a member? Log in Home
Subscriber Log In

We hope you've enjoyed your 5 free articles'

Stay informed with unlimited access to Boston’s trusted news source.

  • High-quality journalism from the region’s largest newsroom
  • Convenient access across all of your devices
  • Today’s Headlines daily newsletter
  • Subscriber-only access to exclusive offers, events, contests, eBooks, and more
  • Less than 25¢ a week
Marketing image of
Marketing image of