You can now read 5 articles in a month for free on Read as much as you want anywhere and anytime for just 99¢.

Open seats


Races in Thursday’s primary for legislative offices that are not held by an incumbent running for reelection:

Continue reading below


First Essex (Democrat Steven A. Baddour resigned in April)

Amesbury, Haverhill, Merrimac, Methuen. Newburyport, North Andover (precincts 1-4), Salisbury

Democrats: William M. Manzi III, Methuen; Kathleen A. O’Connor Ives, Newburyport; Tim Coco, Haverhill

Republicans: Sam S. Meas, Haverhill; Shaun P. Toohey, Haverhill

Second Essex (Incumbent Democrat Frederick E. Berry retiring)

Beverly, Danvers, Peabody, Salem, Topsfield

Democrats: Edward J. Carroll, Salem; Joan B. Lovely, Salem; Mary-Ellen Manning, Peabody; John P. Slattery, Peabody

Third Middlesex (Incumbent Democrat Susan C. Fargo retiring)

Bedford, Carlisle, Chelmsford, Concord, Lexington (precincts 3, 8, 9), Lincoln,

Sudbury (precincts 1, 4, 5), Waltham, Weston

Democrats: Michael J. Barrett, Lexington; Alexander E. Buck, Chelmsford; Mara Marie Dolan, Concord; Joe Kearns Goodwin, Concord; Joseph W. Mullin, Weston

Republicans: Sandi Martinez, Chelmsford; Gregory P. Howes, Concord


Second Essex (Incumbent Democrat Harriett L. Stanley retiring)

Boxford (precincts 2,3), Georgetown, Groveland, Haverhill (Ward 4, Precinct 3; Ward 7, Precinct 3), Merrimac, Newbury, Rowley, West Newbury

Republicans: Robert H. Cronin, Boxford; Gary C. Fowler, Georgetown; Leonard Mirra, West Newbury

21st Middlesex (Incumbent Democrat Charles A. Murphy is on the ballot, but is not running for reelection)

Bedford, Burlington, Wilmington (Precinct 3)

Democrats: David Fionda, Burlington (write-in); Kenneth Gordon, Bedford (write-in); Virginia E. Mooney, Burlington (write-in)

Loading comments...
Want each day's news headlines delivered fresh to your
inbox every morning? Just connect with us
in one of the following ways:
Please enter a valid email will never post anything without asking.
Privacy Policy
Subscriber Log In

You have reached the limit of 5 free articles in a month

Stay informed with unlimited access to Boston’s trusted news source.

  • High-quality journalism from the region’s largest newsroom
  • Convenient access across all of your devices
  • Today’s Headlines daily newsletter
  • Subscriber-only access to exclusive offers, events, contests, eBooks, and more
  • Less than 25¢ a week
Marketing image of
Marketing image of