2013 Drum Major for Justice Award winners selected


The Danvers Committee for Diversity has chosen the recipients of its 2013 Drum Major for Justice Award to be presented at the town’s annual Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Awards Dinner next month. The committee presents the award at the dinner each year to recognize people, businesses, and groups that have shown a deep commitment to social justice and leadership in advancing racial and religious tolerance. One of this year’s awards will be shared by Kyriakos and Patricia Andrinopoulos. Another will be shared by Theodore and Gloria Kougianos, Karen Devaney, and Tammie King. The other awards will go to Gary Gill, Sean McDaniel, and the Rev. Susan Morrison. The dinner will be held Jan. 21 at 5:30 p.m. at the Danversport Yacht Club. In addition to honoring the award recipients, the annual dinner raises funds for a scholarship awarded annually to students who exemplify through their deeds the principles advanced by King.  Tickets are $30 and can be purchased by calling Susan Fletcher or Janell Powers at 978-777-0001, ext. 3095.

Loading comments...
Real journalists. Real journalism. Subscribe to The Boston Globe today.
We hope you've enjoyed your free articles.
Continue reading by subscribing to for just 99¢.
 Already a member? Log in Home
Subscriber Log In

We hope you've enjoyed your 5 free articles'

Stay informed with unlimited access to Boston’s trusted news source.

  • High-quality journalism from the region’s largest newsroom
  • Convenient access across all of your devices
  • Today’s Headlines daily newsletter
  • Subscriber-only access to exclusive offers, events, contests, eBooks, and more
  • Less than 25¢ a week
Marketing image of
Marketing image of