You can now read 5 articles in a month for free on Read as much as you want anywhere and anytime for just 99¢.


Incumbents win in town election

Continue reading below

The incumbents have it, as determined by voters at the annual town election late last month. Charles Bear beat out challenger Michael Doyle, 751 to 675, for a three-year seat on the Board of Selectmen, while David Powell garnered 657 votes to Mary Chick’s 509 for a five-year seat on the planning board. In two other contested spots on the ballot, Charles Colby Jr. beat out David Balkus for a one-year unexpired term as constable, 751 to 414, and Jeffrey Janvrin narrowly beat out David Elwell, 414 to 412, with a third contender, H. Russell Iwanowicz, garnering 226 votes. Meanwhile, several other incumbents ran unopposed and were reinstated, including Robin Williams for a three-year term on the Triton Regional School Committee; Peter Murphy for a three-year term as assessor; Alba Gouldthorpe for a three-year term on the board of health; James Cunningham for four years as constable; Charles Colby as fish commissioner for three years; Peter Hollis as tree warden for one year; and Douglas Noyes as trustee of the first settlers burial ground for three years. Newcomer Richard Passeri was also voted in as a library trustee for three years. The town saw a 29 percent voter turnout.

Loading comments...
Want each day's news headlines delivered fresh to your
inbox every morning? Just connect with us
in one of the following ways:
Please enter a valid email will never post anything without asking.
Privacy Policy
Subscriber Log In

You have reached the limit of 5 free articles in a month

Stay informed with unlimited access to Boston’s trusted news source.

  • High-quality journalism from the region’s largest newsroom
  • Convenient access across all of your devices
  • Today’s Headlines daily newsletter
  • Subscriber-only access to exclusive offers, events, contests, eBooks, and more
  • Less than 25¢ a week
Marketing image of
Marketing image of