You can now read 5 articles in a month for free on Read as much as you want anywhere and anytime for just 99¢.


New selectmen elected

Continue reading below

Finance Committee member Leilani Dalpe and Emergency Medical Services Committee member John Knowlton were elected as the town’s newest selectmen on Tuesday, with 1,352 and 1,423 votes respectively. They bested Diane Stewart, also of the Finance Committee, and newcomer Donald Jonah, who received 1,249 and 505 votes. The seats became available after board chairman Al Rullo and member Steven Spataro chose not to run for reelection. In the School Committee race, incumbent Sara Cederholm and Community Preservation Committee member Maureen Franco ran unopposed, receiving 1,819 and 1,995 votes, respectively. Gas and Electric Commissioner Michael Solimini was ousted by challenger and former Commissioner and G&E employee Daniel Farley, while Thomas Murphy retained his seat. Nancy Thomas narrowly edged out Ed Gosson to fill an unexpired Housing Authority term left when board member Edward Medeiros resigned.

Loading comments...
Want each day's news headlines delivered fresh to your
inbox every morning? Just connect with us
in one of the following ways:
Please enter a valid email will never post anything without asking.
Privacy Policy
Subscriber Log In

You have reached the limit of 5 free articles in a month

Stay informed with unlimited access to Boston’s trusted news source.

  • High-quality journalism from the region’s largest newsroom
  • Convenient access across all of your devices
  • Today’s Headlines daily newsletter
  • Subscriber-only access to exclusive offers, events, contests, eBooks, and more
  • Less than 25¢ a week
Marketing image of
Marketing image of