Next Score View the next score

    Diplomatic posts scheduled to stay closed, reopen

    The State Department released the following list announcing some U.S. consulates and embassies that are scheduled to be closed through Saturday, Aug. 10, and some that were closed Sunday, Aug. 4, and scheduled to reopen Monday, Aug. 5:

    The following posts are instructed to be closed for normal operations Monday, Aug. 5, through Saturday, Aug. 10:

    — Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates


    — Amman, Jordan

    Get Today's Headlines in your inbox:
    The day's top stories delivered every morning.
    Thank you for signing up! Sign up for more newsletters here

    — Cairo, Egypt

    — Riyadh, Saudi Arabia

    — Dhahran, Saudi Arabia

    — Jeddah, Saudi Arabia


    — Doha, Qatar

    — Dubai, United Arab Emirates

    — Kuwait City, Kuwait

    — Manama, Bahrain

    — Muscat, Oman


    — Sana’a, Yemen

    — Tripoli, Libya

    — Antananarivo, Madagascar

    — Bujumbura, Burundi

    — Djibouti, Republic of Djibouti

    — Khartoum, Sudan

    — Kigali, Rwanda

    — Port Louis, Mauritius

    The following posts, normally open Sunday, were closed Sunday, Aug. 4, and are authorized to reopen for normal operations Monday, Aug. 5:

    — Dhaka, Bangladesh

    — Algiers, Algeria

    — Nouakchott, Mauritania

    — Kabul, Afghanistan

    — Baghdad, Iraq

    — Basra, Iraq

    — Erbil, Iraq

    — Herat, Afghanistan

    — Mazar-i-Sharif, Afghanistan

    Source: U.S. State Department