Editorial

With long-term deal, MBTA’s commuter rail network could thrive

Passengers boarded a train at the Morton Street stop.

David L. Ryan/Globe Staff/File

Troubles with the service may be more the fault of the contract than the contractor.

JOAN VENNOCHI

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2017/01/03/BostonGlobe.com/EditorialOpinion/Images/vennochi_20170103.jpg Joan Vennochi: Why is Carmen Ortiz being cast as Cruella de Vil?

The outgoing US attorney has a successful record by any prosecutorial standard.

Opinion | Stephen Crosby

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2017/01/17/BostonGlobe.com/EditorialOpinion/Images/Commissioners-Packet-9-24-15-Part-1MGM-79A.jpg Destination casinos are a catalyst for development

They are fulfilling their promise of broad-based economic development.

Opinion | Mike Stopa

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2017/01/17/BostonGlobe.com/EditorialOpinion/Images/trump_stopa_011717.jpg My hope for Donald Trump — that he remains immune from normalization

Trump’s most valuable assset is his dynamic vision (however inscrutable it can sometimes be) that has produced promising policy proposals.

Senator Elizabeth Warren spoke during a rally for the Affordable Care Act in Boston on Sunday.

Opinion | Elizabeth Warren

The GOP’s strategy for Obamacare? Repeal and run.

There’s no magic wand we can wave to simply snap back to our old system if Republicans decide to rip up the Affordable Care Act and run away.

FILE - In this Jan. 11, 2017 file photo, President-elect Donald Trump speaks during a news conference in the lobby of Trump Tower in New York. Trump says his team will have a “full report on hacking within 90 days,” and is again dismissing as fake a document alleging Russia has damaging information about him. (AP Photo/Evan Vucci)

Opinion | Niall Ferguson

The ‘Wettergate’ delusion

The liberal media are pining for a scandal about Trump’s perveted sexual behavior. Here’s why that fantasy won’t happen.

Alex Beam

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2017/01/14/BostonGlobe.com/EditorialOpinion/Images/Alex_Beam_150px-1879.png Watch out — Trump isn’t always wrong

We can stipulate that the president-elect is a congenital liar. But not everything he says is a lie.

EDITORIAL

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2017/01/13/BostonGlobe.com/EditorialOpinion/Advance/Images/0116trumpgolf.jpg The White House is not just another asset

Donald Trump is still unwilling to put America’s business ahead of family business.

Opinion | Jeffrey D. Sachs

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2017/01/14/BostonGlobe.com/EditorialOpinion/Images/0116danielforweb.jpg US foreign policy — from primacy to global problem solving

Foreign policy in the coming years should address not only threats, but also opportunities.

Get the latest

From Globe Opinion

Letters

A Boston memorial to MLK is long overdue

“We have yet to recognize adequately King’s transformative legacy on our city and nation, as well as our own city’s role in shaping the man himself.” — Seth Riseman

Letters

Memories of King’s ’65 march in Boston come rushing back

“As we marched toward Boston Common, we passed a barroom, and a group of white men came out.” — Jon Maddox

Letters

A president’s conflicts of interest cannot be untangled by statute

“The only remedy for a presidential conflict of interest is vigilance.” — Brian R. Merrick

Letters

For women, injustices are still rampant in court of public opinion

“The venom that Carmen Ortiz encountered is similar to what any powerful woman still endures.” — Donna L. Halper

From Globe Ideas

A Boston story in 50 words

This one involves the Blizzard of ‘78.

Ideas | David Scharfenberg

Has pot lost its cool?

Illegality was part of marijuana’s rebel appeal. So what happens now?

What we’re saying on Twitter

Read our columnists

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2014/04/22/BostonGlobe.com/Business/Images/globe10-7635.jpg

Select the name of a staff or contributing columnist to learn more.