Globe Insiders

From the Archives | Photo gallery

Boston Marathon: The last American winners

Americans have Shirley Reilly to thank for upholding national pride last year. She’s the last American to win any division of the Boston Marathon, taking the 2012 crown in the women’s wheelchair category. To find an American sporting a laurel wreath in another division we need to look back 20 years to when Jim Knaub won the men’s wheelchair race in 1993. When he triumphed, it had already been nearly a decade since an American runner placed first, with Lisa Larsen Weidenbach breaking the tape in the women’s open division in 1985. Two years earlier Greg Meyer became the last American male runner to win, a victory drought now spanning 30 years. — Lane Turner and Lisa Tuite

Real journalists. Real journalism. Subscribe to The Boston Globe today.
We hope you've enjoyed your free articles.
Continue reading by subscribing to for just 99¢.
 Already a member? Log in Home
Subscriber Log In

We hope you've enjoyed your 5 free articles'

Stay informed with unlimited access to Boston’s trusted news source.

  • High-quality journalism from the region’s largest newsroom
  • Convenient access across all of your devices
  • Today’s Headlines daily newsletter
  • Subscriber-only access to exclusive offers, events, contests, eBooks, and more
  • Less than 25¢ a week
Marketing image of
Marketing image of