Next Score View the next score

    NCAA lacrosse championships

    Details: NCAA lacrosse weekend at Gillette Stadium

    Duke, which squared off with Syracuse in the lacrosse final four the when the tournament was in Foxborough in 2009, this weekend will play Maryland as the NCAA championship returns to Foxborough.
    Robert E. Klein for The Boston Globe
    Duke, which squared off with Syracuse in the lacrosse final four the when the tournament was in Foxborough in 2009, this weekend will play Maryland as the NCAA championship returns to Foxborough.

    The nation’s men’s college lacrosse championships will be decided this weekend at Gillette Stadium. The Division I semifinals and finals will be played Saturday and Monday, and the Division II and III title games will be held Sunday.

    In addition to the nation’s top college lacrosse teams, Gillette Stadium will host the NCAA LaxExperience fan festival, a player autograph session, a free youth clinic and youth jamborees.

    Here’s a look at who’s playing and other event details:

    Event details:


    * Schedule: The first face-off is Saturday at 2:30 p.m. when top-seeded Loyola challenges Notre Dame. Third-seeded Duke then meets 2011 national runner-up Maryland at 5 p.m. The semifinals winners will face off at Gillette Stadium on Monday, May 28, at 1 p.m. in the Division I championship game. On Sunday, May 27, the champions in Divisions II and III, respectively, will be crowned when Limestone faces Dowling at 1 p.m. and Salisbury battles Cortland at 4 p.m.

    Get Breaking Sports Alerts in your inbox:
    Be the first to know the latest sports news as it happens.
    Thank you for signing up! Sign up for more newsletters here

    * Tickets: Available on Ticketmaster.

    * Parking: Free

    Division I participants:

    Duke (15-4): Defeated Colgate 17-6 to reach the national semifinals for the sixth straight season under coach John Danowski. Duke won the national title in 2010. Jordan Wolf (31) has 32 goals and 31 assists to lead the Blue Devils in scoring. Christian Walsh scored 33 goals and had 14 assists. Robert Rotanz led the team in goals with 38. Goalie Dan Wigrizer has an 8.54 goals-against average and an 11-3 record.

    Loyola Maryland (16-1): Is the top seed in the tournament and has outscored opponents 63-22 in the third quarters of games and 117-61 overall this year in the second half (including overtime). It is making its third appearance in the national semifinals, but first since 1998. Mike Sawyer set a Loyola record for goals in a season with 51. Eric Lusby has 45 goals this season. Five players earned All-ECAC Lacrosse League honors: Long-stick midfielder Scott Ratliff (also named ECAC defensive player of the year), Sawyer, and midfielder Davis Butts on the first team, Lusby and Joe Fletcher on the second. Coach Charley Toomey was named ECAC coach of the year.


    Notre Dame (13-2): Making its third appearance on championship weekend. The Irish are led by sophomore Jim Marlatt (30 points) and senior Sean Rogers (21 goals). Notre Dame was the national runner-up in 2010, when it lost to Duke in the final, 6-5, in overtime.

    Maryland (11-5): Defeated Johns Hopkins 11-5 in the quarterfinals to reach the final four for the second straight year. Joe Cummings leads the Terps with 30 goals and 15 assists (he has 30 multi-point and 22 multi-goal games in his career) and Owen Blye has 17 goals and 20 assists. Goalie Niko Amato has a 7.35 goals-against average and an 11-5 record. Maryland was the runner-up last season to Virginia, and hasn’t won the national title since 1975.

    Division II: Dowling vs. Limestone

    Limestone (17-1) and No. 4 Dowling (12-2) met during the regular season and Limestone won, 15-7. Limestone, of Gaffney, S.C., is looking for its first title since 2002 and third since 2000. Limestone defeated No. 2 Le Moyne 10-8 while Dowling won at No. 1 Mercyhurst, 7-6 in overtime, in the semifinals. Dowling is located in Oakdale, N.Y.

    Division III: Salisbury vs. SUNY-Cortland

    Salisbury will be playing its third straight Division III national championship game, and has won the Division III title nine times. Salisbury (22-0) defeated Stevenson in the semifinals. Cortland (21-0), which won the national title in 2009 and 2006, topped Tufts, 12-10 in the other semifinal. Salisbury is located in Maryland; Cortland is in New York.