Boston Globe Scholar-Athletes feted

Tamir Kalifa for the Globe
This year’s Globe Scholar-Athletes gather around Richard Phelps, a benefactor of the scholarship program.

With praise for their parents and a message to keep on excelling in the classroom, Richard Phelps addressed the winners as the Globe hosted its annual Scholar-Athlete Award ceremony Sunday.

“I know the feeling of pride you all have in your children,’’ said Phelps, the president of Phelps Industries and sponsor of the program that gives $3,000 to 14 student-athletes. “Remember, it is the classroom where success is most important.’’

The Globe’s scholar-athlete award was started in 1987.


The winners represent seven MIAA districts and were chosen based on athletic and academic success. They were Will Quigley of Marblehead and Madison Acton of Lincoln-Sudbury (District A); Jonathan DiBiaso of Everett and Emma Payne of Cambridge (District B); Simon Merryweather of Hingham and Tara Celata of Dedham (District C); Thomas Carroll of Somerset Berkley and Kara Charette of Fairhaven (District D); Steven Flynn of St. Peter-Marian and Olivia Brooks of Tantasqua (District E); Deklan Robinson of St. John’s Prep and Shelagh Brice of Lowell Catholic (District H); and Carlos Ruiz of East Boston and Maria Delvecchio of East Boston (Boston).

Get Breaking Sports Alerts in your inbox:
Be the first to know the latest sports news as it happens.
Thank you for signing up! Sign up for more newsletters here

In addition, the four athletes of the year were announced.

For NEPSAC schools, the female winner was Bry Bourbeau of Tilton School and the male winner was Brian Hart of Phillips Exeter. Bourbeau will play field hockey at UMass-Lowell this fall. Hart is headed to Harvard and in Saturday’s NHL draft was the first New England player taken, going No. 53 to the Tampa Bay Lightning.

The Will McDonough Female and Male Athletes of the Year were Charette and East Bridgewater’s Casey DeAndrade. Charette was a volleyball and basketball All-Scholastic who will play basketball at Franklin Pierce. DeAndrade was a football and baseball All-Scholastic who’ll play football at New Hampshire.