You can now read 10 articles in a month for free on Read as much as you want anywhere and anytime for just 99¢.

The Boston Globe


Sports championships during the David Stern era

The NBA has had only eight teams win championships since commissioner David Stern’s tenure began in February 1984. (Stern announced Thursday that he will retire Feb. 1, 2014.) A look at how many champions the four major sports have had during the Stern era (since Feb. 1984):

League champions championships
MLB 18 Yankees, 5; Twins, Blue Jays, Red Sox, Cardinals, Marlins, 2; Tigers, Royals, Mets, Dodgers, A’s, Reds, Braves, Diamondbacks, Angels, White Sox, Phillies, Giants, 1.
NHL 15 Oilers, 5; Red Wings, 4; Devils, Penguins, 3; Canadiens, Avalanche, 2; Flames, Rangers, Stars, Lightning, Hurricanes, Ducks, Blackhawks, Bruins, Kings, 1.
NFL 14 Giants, 49ers, 4; Cowboys, Patriots, 3; Redskins, Packers, Broncos, Steelers, 2; Bears, Rams, Ravens, Buccaneers, Colts, Saints, 1.
NBA 8 Lakers, 8; Bulls, 6; Spurs, 4; Celtics, Pistons, 3; Rockets, Heat, 2; Mavericks, 1.

Loading comments...

You have reached the limit of 10 free articles in a month

Stay informed with unlimited access to Boston’s trusted news source.

  • High-quality journalism from the region’s largest newsroom
  • Convenient access across all of your devices
  • Today’s Headlines daily newsletter
  • Subscriber-only access to exclusive offers, events, contests, eBooks, and more
  • Less than 25¢ a week