Read as much as you want on, anywhere and anytime, for just 99¢.

Sports championships during the David Stern era

Continue reading below

The NBA has had only eight teams win championships since commissioner David Stern’s tenure began in February 1984. (Stern announced Thursday that he will retire Feb. 1, 2014.) A look at how many champions the four major sports have had during the Stern era (since Feb. 1984):

MLB18Yankees, 5; Twins, Blue Jays, Red Sox, Cardinals, Marlins, 2; Tigers, Royals, Mets, Dodgers, A’s, Reds, Braves, Diamondbacks, Angels, White Sox, Phillies, Giants, 1.
NHL15Oilers, 5; Red Wings, 4; Devils, Penguins, 3; Canadiens, Avalanche, 2; Flames, Rangers, Stars, Lightning, Hurricanes, Ducks, Blackhawks, Bruins, Kings, 1.
NFL14Giants, 49ers, 4; Cowboys, Patriots, 3; Redskins, Packers, Broncos, Steelers, 2; Bears, Rams, Ravens, Buccaneers, Colts, Saints, 1.
NBA8Lakers, 8; Bulls, 6; Spurs, 4; Celtics, Pistons, 3; Rockets, Heat, 2; Mavericks, 1.

* Both MLB (1994) and the NHL (2004-05) failed to award a championship in one season during Stern’s era because of labor-related work stoppages.

Loading comments...
Subscriber Log In

You have reached the limit of 5 free articles in a month

Stay informed with unlimited access to Boston’s trusted news source.

  • High-quality journalism from the region’s largest newsroom
  • Convenient access across all of your devices
  • Today’s Headlines daily newsletter
  • Subscriber-only access to exclusive offers, events, contests, eBooks, and more
  • Less than 25¢ a week
Marketing image of
Marketing image of