MLS roundup: Revolution win season finale

Diego Fagundez (left) of the Revolution and Montreal’s Davy Arnaud battle for the ball.
Diego Fagundez (left) of the Revolution and Montreal’s Davy Arnaud battle for the ball.

A.J. Soares scored in the 89th minute to give the New England Revolution a 1-0 win over the host Montreal Impact in the MLS regular-season finale for both teams.

Soares was inside the box to head Chris Tierney’s free kick past the reach of goalkeeper Troy Perkins for an end to a game the Impact dominated.

The Revolution (9-17-8) ended a 13-game winless run in road matches and won for the first time on Canadian soil, having gone 0-5-3 in Montreal, Toronto, and Vancouver. The Impact (12-16-6) ended the campaign with a loss like many they sustained this season — on a late goal off a set piece.


Revolution goalkeeper Bobby Shuttleworth made a career-high seven saves to notch his second straight shutout. Montreal came inches from breaking through in the 50th minute when Marco Di Vaio’s low cross slipped through Shuttleworth’s legs at the near post and rolled across the face of goal. Shuttleworth was sharper moments later, diving to his left to stop Davy Arnaud’s blast.

Get Breaking Sports Alerts in your inbox:
Be the first to know the latest sports news as it happens.
Thank you for signing up! Sign up for more newsletters here

Shuttleworth came up big again in the 82d minute when he got low to stop Di Vaio’s 20-yard free kick, while he got help in the 86th minute when Blair Gavin, a Revolution substitute, cleared Arnaud’s close-range effort off the line.

Earthquakes 1, Timbers 1 — Chris Wondolowski tied the MLS season record with his 27th goal and visiting San Jose wrapped up the regular season with a draw against Portland.

Wondolowski, 29, scored in the 24th minute, matching the record set by Roy Lassiter of Tampa Bay in 1996. San Jose has already secured its second Supporters’ Shield and home-field advantage throughout the playoffs. The Earthquakes went undefeated in their last 10 matches and lead the league with 72 goals.

D.C. United 1, Fire 1 ­ ­— Lionard Pajoy scored in the 50th minute and Bill Hamid made eight saves to help visiting United rally for a tie with Chicago.


The draw gave D.C. second place in the Eastern Conference. New York finished third, ahead of fourth-place Chicago on a tiebreaker.

The Fire needed to beat D.C. to avoid playing in the one-game elimination round. Instead, Chicago will host fifth-place Houston Wednesday. The winner plays Eastern Conference champion Kansas City in the second round.

Red Bulls 3, Union 0 — Kenny Cooper scored twice and Thierry Henry added a goal as New York beat host Philadelphia.

The Red Bulls reached the playoffs for the third straight year and the ninth time in 10 seasons. New York won all three matches this season against the Union, who lost their final three games and will miss the postseason for the second time in three years.

Whitecaps 0, Real Salt Lake 0 — Real Salt Lake played to a draw with Vancouver in Sandy, Utah, and made a little bit of history along the way. RSL became just the second MLS team to not allow a goal in the first 15 minutes of any regular-season match. Houston accomplished the feat in 2009.


Rapids 2, Dynamo 0 — Kamani Hill and Andre Akpan scored as host Colorado beat playoff-bound Houston. Goalkeeper Steward Ceus posted his second shutout in his second career MLS start.