Next Score View the next score

    Sunday Baseball Notes

    Miguel Cabrera the worthy MVP, despite complaints

    Nationals skipper Davey Johnson, named National League manager of the year this week, will be 70 when next season opens and he says it will be his final season as manager. Twenty-nine years after beginning his first managerial job with the Mets, Johnson has compiled an outstanding record with five teams over 16 seasons, winning one pennant and one World Series and finishing first or second 12 times.


    New York Mets (1984-90)

    Otto Greule Jr/Getty Images

    Record: 595-417

    Beat Red Sox in 1986 for only World Series win, also made it to NLCS in 1988.

    Cincinnati Reds (1993-95)

    Otto Greule Jr/Getty Images

    Record: 204-172

    Led the Reds to the 1995 NLCS but was fired anyway after the season by owner Marge Schott. It wouldn't be the last time he had problems with ownership.

    Baltimore Orioles (1996-97)

    Roberto Borea/Associated Press

    Record: 186-138

    After leading Orioles to the ALCS two straight seasons, he resigned after a squabble with owner Peter Angelos, on the same day he was named AL Manager of the Year.

    Los Angeles Dodgers (1999-2000)

    Mark Lennihan/Associated Press

    Record: 163-161

    Was let go after failing to make the playoffs for a second straight season.

    Washington Nationals (2011-present)

    Patrick McDermott/Getty Images

    Record: 138-107

    Got the Nationals to the postseason in 2012, the first time a team in Washington had made it since 1933.

    Wins Winning pct. Playoff berths
    1,286 .564 6
    All time rank: 32d All time: 19th All time: 13th
    Active: 4th Active: 2d Active: T-2