Bill Belichick now NFL’s longest-tenured head coach

Bill Belichick has been at the helm of the Patriots for 13 seasons.
Elise Amendola/AP
Bill Belichick has been at the helm of the Patriots for 13 seasons.

When the Philadelphia Eagles dismissed Andy Reid earlier this month, it made the Patriots’ Bill Belichick the longest-tenured head coach in the NFL.

Between the day Belichick was hired, Jan. 27, 2000, and the end of the 2012 season, 127 different head coaches served on the other 31 teams in the NFL. Among the teams with the most instability at head coach are the Raiders (eight) and the Dolphins, Redskins, and Lions (seven each). The 127 coaches represents an average of just more than four per team.

That total number of Belichick’s peers is certain to rise after seven teams dismissed head coaches following the 2012 season.


After Belichick, the Cincinnati Bengals’ Marvin Lewis (2003) and the New York Giants’ Tom Coughlin (2004) are the next longest-tenured head coaches.

Get Breaking Sports Alerts in your inbox:
Be the first to know the latest sports news as it happens.
Thank you for signing up! Sign up for more newsletters here

Below are the 127 men who served in the NFL as a head coach between when Belichick was hired and the close of the 2012 regular season:

Bills - 6 (Wade Phillips, Gregg Williams, Mike Mularkey, Dick Jauron, Perry Fewell, Chan Gailey)

Dolphins - 7 (Dave Wannstedt, Jim Bates, Nick Saban, Cam Cameron, Tony Sparano, Todd Bowles, Joe Philbin)

Jets - 4 (Al Groh, Herman Edwards, Eric Mangini, Rex Ryan)


Ravens - 2 (Brian Billick, John Harbaugh)

Bengals - 3 (Bruce Coslet, Dick LeBeau, Marvin Lewis)

Browns - 6 (Chris Palmer, Butch Davis, Terry Robiskie, Romeo Crennel, Eric Mangini, Pat Shurmur)

Steelers - 2 (Bill Cowher, Mike Tomlin)

Texans - 2 (Dom Capers, Gary Kubiak)


Colts - 4 (Jim E. Mora, Tony Dungy, Jim Caldwell, Chuck Pagano)

Jaguars - 4 (Tom Coughlin, Jack Del Rio, Mel Tucker, Mike Mularkey)

Titans - 2 (Jeff Fisher, Mike Munchak)

Broncos - 4 (Mike Shanahan, Josh McDaniels, Eric Studesville, John Fox)

Chiefs - 5 (Gunther Cunningham, Dick Vermeil, Herman Edwards, Todd Haley, Romeo Crennel)

Raiders - 8 (Jon Gruden, Bill Callahan, Norv Turner, Art Shell, Lane Kiffin, Tom Cable, Hue Jackson, Dennis Allen)

Chargers - 3 (Mike Riley, Marty Schottenheimer, Norv Turner)

Cowboys - 4 (Dave Campo, Bill Parcells, Wade Phillips, Jason Garrett)

Giants - 2 (Jim Fassel, Tom Coughlin)

Eagles - 1 (Andy Reid)

Redskins - 7 (Norv Turner, Marty Schottenheimer, Steve Spurrier, Terry Robiskie, Joe Gibbs, Jim Zorn, Mike Shanahan)

Bears - 2 (Dick Jauron, Lovie Smith)

Lions - 7 (Bobby Ross, Gary Moeller, Marty Mornhinweg, Steve Mariucci, Rod Marinelli, Dick Jauron, Jim Schwartz)

Packers - 2 (Mike Sherman, Mike McCarthy)

Vikings - 4 (Dennis Green, Mike Tice, Brad Childress, Leslie Frazier)

Falcons - 6 (Dan Reeves, Wade Phillips, Jim L. Mora, Bobby Petrino, Emmitt Thomas, Mike Smith)

Panthers - 3 (George Seifert, John Fox, Ron Rivera)

Saints - 4 (Jim Haslett, Sean Payton, Aaron Kromer, Joe Vitt)

Buccaneers - 4 (Tony Dungy, Jon Gruden, Raheem Morris, Greg Schiano)

Cardinals - 4 (Vince Tobin, Dave McGinnis, Dennis Green, Ken Whisenhunt)

Rams - 6 (Mike Martz, Joe Vitt, Scott Linehan, Jim Haslett, Steve Spagnuolo, Jeff Fisher)

49ers - 6 (Steve Mariucci, Dennis Erickson, Mike Nolan, Mike Singletary, Jim Tomsula, Jim Harbaugh)

Seahawks - 3 (Mike Holmgren, Jim L. Mora, Pete Carroll)