You can now read 5 articles in a month for free on Read as much as you want anywhere and anytime for just 99¢.

Adrian Peterson’s MVP puts Vikings in exclusive club

Adrian Peterson won the MVP award on Feb. 2.

Jeff Haynes/REUTERS

Adrian Peterson won the MVP award on Feb. 2.

With Adrian Peterson being named NFL Most Valuable Player, the Vikings became the seventh franchise to have at least three players recognized as the league’s best player by the Associated Press.

A look at the teams with the most MVP winners:


Continue reading below

HB Paul Hornung, 1961

FB Jim Taylor, 1962

QB Bart Starr, 1966

QB Brett Favre, 1995, 96, 97

QB Aaron Rodgers, 2011

COLTS -- 4

QB Johnny Unitas, 1959, 64, 67

QB Earl Morrall, 1968

QB Bert Jones, 1976

QB Peyton Manning, 2003, 04, 08, 09


DT Alan Page, 1971

QB Fran Tarkenton, 1975

RB Adrian Peterson, 2012

RAMS -- 3

QB Roman Gabriel, 1969

QB Kurt Warner, 1999, 2001

RB Marshall Faulk, 2000

49ERS -- 3

QB John Brodie, 1970

QB Joe Montana, 1989, 90

QB Steve Young, 1992, 94


QB Ken Stabler, 1974

RB Marcus Allen, 1985

QB Rich Gannon, 2002


RB Larry Brown, 1972

K Mark Moseley, 1982

QB Joe Theismann, 1983

Loading comments...
Want each day's news headlines delivered fresh to your
inbox every morning? Just connect with us
in one of the following ways:
Please enter a valid email will never post anything without asking.
Privacy Policy
Subscriber Log In

You have reached the limit of 5 free articles in a month

Stay informed with unlimited access to Boston’s trusted news source.

  • High-quality journalism from the region’s largest newsroom
  • Convenient access across all of your devices
  • Today’s Headlines daily newsletter
  • Subscriber-only access to exclusive offers, events, contests, eBooks, and more
  • Less than 25¢ a week
Marketing image of
Marketing image of