Our committee


The 27th annual Boston Globe/Richard Phelps Scholar-Athletes were chosen by high school editor Zuri Berry, Regional Sports Editor Craig Larson, Assistant Managing Editor/Sports Joe Sullivan, Senior Assistant Sports Editor Scott Thurston, High School Editor Bob Holmes, and Dave Manzo, the president and executive director of the Cotting School in Lexington. Winners represent one boy and one girl from six MIAA districts plus Boston. Text by Alex Hall. Photos by Essdras Suarez.

For expanded bios of the winners, go to
Loading comments...
Real journalists. Real journalism. Subscribe to The Boston Globe today.
We hope you've enjoyed your free articles.
Continue reading by subscribing to for just 99¢.
 Already a member? Log in Home
Subscriber Log In

We hope you've enjoyed your 5 free articles'

Stay informed with unlimited access to Boston’s trusted news source.

  • High-quality journalism from the region’s largest newsroom
  • Convenient access across all of your devices
  • Today’s Headlines daily newsletter
  • Subscriber-only access to exclusive offers, events, contests, eBooks, and more
  • Less than 25¢ a week
Marketing image of
Marketing image of