Richard Phelps Scholar-Athletes

Globe honors best scholar-athletes of year

Over a dozen of the finest student-athletes in the state were feted at the Globe’s offices in Dorchester on Sunday.

John Blanding/Globe Staff

Over a dozen of the finest student-athletes in the state were feted at the Globe’s offices in Dorchester on Sunday.

The Globe honored its 14 Richard Phelps Scholar-Athletes Sunday at a ceremony at its offices in Dorchester.

“To say that I am impressed is the understatement of the day,” said Phelps, a benefactor of the program. “You should feel very proud of what you have attained during your high school years.


“I know you have learned and benefited a great deal from your athletic experience with many wins and a few losses. But, above all, you will have made friends on those athletic fields that will last a lifetime.”

The Scholar-Athletes represent a boy and a girl from six MIAA districts, along with the City of Boston. Students are nominated by their schools and selected by a Globe committee. Each receives a $3,000 college scholarship.

Get Sports Headlines in your inbox:
The Globe's most recent sports headlines delivered to your inbox every morning.
Thank you for signing up! Sign up for more newsletters here

This year’s honorees were Acton-Boxboro’s Tim Cox and Gloucester’s Sophia Black from District A; Zeke Vainer of Melrose and Sara Lehman of Lexington from District B; Ned Connolly from Needham and Rachel Norton from Braintree in District C; Nick Peabody of Barnstable and Maegan Hoffman of Avon from District D; Gregory Abare of Lunenburg and Erin Scanlon of Auburn from District E; Kevin Connors of Arlington Catholic and Alison Butler of St. Mary’s from District H; and Nikiander Pelari of Latin Academy and Sara Centeio of Charlestown from Boston.

The ceremony ended with the announcement of the Globe’s Athletes of the Year. The NEPSAC winners were Maeve McMahon (Groton School) and Brian O’Malley (St. Sebastian’s), who were three-sport ISL all-stars. The Globe/Will McDonough male and female athletes of the year for MIAA schools were state champion runner Andre Rolim (Somerville) and three-sport All-Scholastic Hannah Murphy (Duxbury).

For past Globe Athletes of the Year, visit and
Loading comments...
Real journalists. Real journalism. Subscribe to The Boston Globe today.