Retired numbers: Chipper Jones is latest MLB honoree

The  Braves retired Chipper Jones’ No. 10 on June 28.
David Goldman/AP
The Braves retired Chipper Jones’ No. 10 on June 28.

The Braves retired Chipper Jones’s No. 10 last week, making him the 167th player, manager, team official, broadcaster, or fan base to be honored by today’s 30 teams, according to

That doesn’t include the 29 teams who have hung up No. 42 but does include the Dodgers’ No. 42 -- their own Jackie Robinson. The Yankees, the first team to permanently adopt the practice of wearing numbers, was also the first to start retiring them, hanging up Lou Gehrig’s No. 4 in 1939.

A look at some of the details about retired numbers around MLB:



16 -- Yankees

Get Breaking Sports Alerts in your inbox:
Be the first to know the latest sports news as it happens.
Thank you for signing up! Sign up for more newsletters here

14 -- Cardinals

13 -- Giants


10 -- Braves


10 -- Dodgers


0 -- Rockies

0 -- Mariners

0 -- Nationals

1 -- Rays (Wade Boggs)


1 -- Blue Jays (Robbie Alomar)

1 -- Diamondbacks (Luis Gonzalez)

1 -- Marlins (Carl Barger, first team president)

Players with numbers retired with multiple teams

Nolan Ryan -- 34 Astros, Rangers; 30 Angels

Hank Aaron -- 44 Braves, Brewers

Rod Carew -- 29 Twins, Angels

Rollie Fingers -- 34 Athletics, Brewers

Greg Maddux – 31 Cubs, Braves

Frank Robinson -- 20 Reds, Orioles

Players honored without numbers

Ty Cobb (Tigers)

Rogers Hornsby (Cardinals)

Christy Mathewson (Giants)

Chuck Klein (Phillies)

Pete “Grover” Alexander (Phillies)


455 -- The Indians saluted the fans by “retiring” 455, the number of consecutive sellouts at Jacobs Field from 1995-2001. The record streak was later broken by the Red Sox.

Broadcasters -- Three of the Reds’ 13 honorees were men behind the mic -- Joe Nuxhall, Marty Brennaman, and Waite Hoyt. Six other teams have also honored broadcasters.

Wade Boggs -- He batted .338 in 11 seasons with the Red Sox, won a World Series in five seasons with the Yankees, but his No. 12 is hanging at Tropicana Field, where he played two pedestrian seasons with the Rays to end his career.

Marlins’ No. 5 -- The Florida Marlins originally retired the number in honor of their first team president Carl Barger, whose favorite player, Joe DiMaggio, wore the number. In 2012, outfielder Logan Morrison got the OK to wear the number in honor of his father, whose favorite player, George Brett, had also worn No. 5. The team has since honored Barger with a plaque.

Note: includes four Expos players and owner Charles Bronfman on its list. Since the franchise moved to Washington it has reinstated the numbers.