Can Yoenis Cespedes break the Home Run Derby curse?

Yoenis Cespedes won the Home Run Derby at the All-Star Game.
Jae C. Hong/AP
Yoenis Cespedes won the Home Run Derby at the All-Star Game.

Athletics slugger Yoenis Cespedes this season became the first player to win the Home Run Derby despite not being selected to the All-Star Game.

His next challenge: Beat the so-called Derby curse and become the ninth champion since the event began in 1985 to hit more homers after the All-Star break than he did before.The early signs aren’t encouraging.

Cespedes, who hit 15 homers in the first half, hadn’t homered in his 19 games before the All-Star break and missed the first four games after it with a sore wrist.

The studs


Eight champions who hit more homers after the break:

Ryan Howard, Phillies 2006

Get Breaking Sports Alerts in your inbox:
Be the first to know the latest sports news as it happens.
Thank you for signing up! Sign up for more newsletters here

Before 28; After 30 (58)

Sammy Sosa, Cubs 2000

Before 23; After: 27 (50)

Andre Dawson, Cubs 1987

Before 24; After 25 (49)

Prince Fielder, Brewers 2009

Before 22; After 24 (46)

Miguel Tejada, A’s 2004


Before 15; After 19 (34)

Eric Davis, Reds 1989

Before 16; After 18 (34)

Ruben Sierra, Rangers 1989

Before 14; After 15 (29)

Darryl Strawberry, Mets 1986

Before 13; After 14 (27)

The duds

Five Derby champions who hit fewer than 10 home runs after the All-Star break:

Wally Joyner, Angels 1986


Before break 20; After break 2 (Total: 22)

Bobby Abreu, Phillies 2005

Before 18; After 6 (24)

Garret Anderson, Angels 2003

Before 22; After 7 (29)

Ken Griffey Jr., Mariners 1994

Before 33; After 7 (40)

(Note: Season ended after only 24 games following the All-Star break because of a strike)

Justin Morneau, Twins 2008

Before 14; After 9 (23)


Note: Joyner and Strawberry (1986) and Davis and Sierra (1989) were co-champions.