Next Score View the next score

    Miguel Cabrera chasing the other Triple Crown

    Miguel Cabrera
    Leon Halip/Getty Images
    Miguel Cabrera

    Tigers slugger Miguel Cabrera trails Chris Davis in the home run race, meaning he will likely come up short in his bid to be the first player to win the Triple Crown in consecutive seasons.

    But he is in line to become just the fourth player in 33 years and eighth since 1925 to win a variation of the Triple Crown -- leading the majors in batting average, on-base percentage, and slugging. He leads in all three categories heading into the season’s final week.

    Others to win this version of the Triple Crown:

    Player, team, yearBAOBPSLG
    Barry Bonds, Giants 2002.370.582.799
    Larry Walker, Rockies, 1999.379.458.710
    George Brett, Royals, 1980 .390.454.664
    Ted Williams, Red Sox, 1957.388.526.731
    Stan Musial, Cardinals, 1943.357.425.562
    Williams, Red Sox, 1942*.356.499.648
    Williams, Red Sox, 1941.406.553.735
    Lou Gehrig, Yankees, 1934*.363.465.706
    Rogers Hornsby, Cardinals, 1925*    .403.489.756


    * Won traditional Triple Crown as well