Miguel Cabrera chasing the other Triple Crown

Miguel Cabrera

Leon Halip/Getty Images

Miguel Cabrera

Tigers slugger Miguel Cabrera trails Chris Davis in the home run race, meaning he will likely come up short in his bid to be the first player to win the Triple Crown in consecutive seasons.

But he is in line to become just the fourth player in 33 years and eighth since 1925 to win a variation of the Triple Crown -- leading the majors in batting average, on-base percentage, and slugging. He leads in all three categories heading into the season’s final week.


Others to win this version of the Triple Crown:

Player, team, yearBAOBPSLG
Barry Bonds, Giants 2002.370.582.799
Larry Walker, Rockies, 1999.379.458.710
George Brett, Royals, 1980 .390.454.664
Ted Williams, Red Sox, 1957.388.526.731
Stan Musial, Cardinals, 1943.357.425.562
Williams, Red Sox, 1942*.356.499.648
Williams, Red Sox, 1941.406.553.735
Lou Gehrig, Yankees, 1934*.363.465.706
Rogers Hornsby, Cardinals, 1925*    .403.489.756

* Won traditional Triple Crown as well

Loading comments...
Real journalists. Real journalism. Subscribe to The Boston Globe today.
We hope you've enjoyed your free articles.
Continue reading by subscribing to for just 99¢.
 Already a member? Log in Home
Subscriber Log In

We hope you've enjoyed your 5 free articles'

Stay informed with unlimited access to Boston’s trusted news source.

  • High-quality journalism from the region’s largest newsroom
  • Convenient access across all of your devices
  • Today’s Headlines daily newsletter
  • Subscriber-only access to exclusive offers, events, contests, eBooks, and more
  • Less than 25¢ a week
Marketing image of
Marketing image of