Parity on display in NFC East

MINNEAPOLIS, MN - NOVEMBER 7: Robert Griffin III #10 of the Washington Redskins calls a play against the Minnesota Vikings on November 7, 2013 at Mall of America Field at the Hubert Humphrey Metrodome in Minneapolis, Minnesota. (Photo by Adam Bettcher/Getty Images)
Adam Bettcher/Getty Images
Robert Griffin III

Parity in the NFL is best exemplified in the NFC East, where there hasn’t been a repeat division champion since the Eagles in 2003-04. With the Redskins’ struggles this year, there likely will be a different division winner for the 10th straight season.

Here’s a look at how the NFC East teams have fared head-to-head since 2004. Though the series have been close, none have an average scoring margin of less than a touchdown.

Division winners

2012 Redskins (10-6)


2011 Giants (9-7)

Get Breaking Sports Alerts in your inbox:
Be the first to know the latest sports news as it happens.
Thank you for signing up! Sign up for more newsletters here

2010 Eagles (10-6)

2009 Cowboys (11-5)

2008 Giants (12-4)

2007 Cowboys (13-3)


2006 Eagles (10-6)

2005 Giants (11-5)

2004 Eagles (13-3)


Cowboys vs. Redskins

11-8 Cowboys


7.9 avg. margin

Cowboys vs. Giants

12-8 Giants

8.5 avg. margin

Cowboys vs. Eagles

11-9 Cowboys

14.0 avg. margin

Redskins vs. Giants

12-6 Giants

12.6 avg. margin

Redskins vs. Eagles

11-8 Eagles

11.4 avg. margin

Giants vs. Eagles

13-9 Eagles

10.8 avg. margin