Rare 1-2 repeat in AL MVP race

Miguel Cabrera won the MVP award for the second straight year.

Carlos Osorio/AP

Miguel Cabrera won the MVP award for the second straight year.


For the second straight year the Tigers’ Miguel Cabrera and the Angels’ Mike Trout finished 1-2 in the American League MVP voting, with Cabrera winning his second in a row. Trout was second in the majors in runs (109) and third in OBP (.432), OPS (.988), and walks (110). A year after winning the Triple Crown, Cabrera led the majors in batting average (.348), OBP (.442), and slugging (.636).

It’s only the fourth time in baseball history players have finished 1-2 in consecutive seasons. The others:

Barry Bonds, Giants0.37461101.381
Albert Pujols, Cardinals0.314341270.955
Barry Bonds, Giants0.34145901.278
Albert Pujols, Cardinals0.359431241.106
Terry Pendleton, Braves0.31922860.88
Barry Bonds, Pirates0.292251160.924
Barry Bonds, Pirates0.311341031.08
Terry Pendleton, Braves0.311211050.818
Roger Maris, Yankees0.283391120.952
Mickey Mantle, Yankees0.27540940.957
Roger Maris, Yankees0.269611410.993
Mickey Mantle, Yankees0.317541281.135

Loading comments...
Real journalists. Real journalism. Subscribe to The Boston Globe today.