You can now read 10 articles in a month for free on BostonGlobe.com. Read as much as you want anywhere and anytime for just 99¢.

The Boston Globe

Sports

Storm updates:

Revere was hit by tornado, officials say   |   Photos   |   Live video

  

Officially, refs botched finish to Giants-Redskins game

NEW YORK — Redskins coach Mike Shanahan spoke Monday with the NFL’s director of officiating after the league said Sunday night’s crew made an error on Washington’s final drive.

The league said officials should have stopped play and eliminated confusion about the down and distance at the end of the Giants’ 24-17 victory at Washington.

Continue reading below

‘‘I talked to Dean earlier today, he gave me a call and just went over the scenario,’’ Shanahan said, referring to Dean Blandino, who oversees NFL officiating. ‘‘Obviously they made a mistake and you live with it.’’

With New York leading by 7 points just after the two-minute warning, a catch by the Redskins’ Pierre Garcon on second and 5 was spotted short of a first down at the Washington 45. Referee Jeff Triplette signaled third down. But the head linesman, with the Redskins in a hurry-up offense, incorrectly motioned for the crew to advance the chains, which caused the down boxes to read first down.

‘‘In this situation where there is obvious confusion as to the status of the down, that play should have been stopped prior to third down and the correct down communicated to both clubs,’’ Blandino said Monday in a statement. ‘‘This should have occurred regardless of the fact that Washington had no timeouts and it was inside two minutes.’’

Only the referee can rule and signal a first down. The official nearest to the down markers and chain crew, the head linesman, is required to wait for that first-down signal from the referee before moving the chains. That did not happen at FedEx Field.

After Washington’s incomplete pass on the next play — which many Redskins believed was on first down — the chains were moved back and the down boxes correctly reset to fourth down.

Continue reading below

Blandino said instant replay review was not used on Garcon’s catch because the replay official determined the ball was ‘‘correctly spotted short of the line to gain for a first down.’’

Redskins quarterback Robert Griffin III said the confusion affected the play calling.

‘‘The chain said first down, and then when we came back, we think it’s second and 10, and they’re yelling out it’s fourth down,’’ Griffin said.

‘‘No explanation. No measurement. Didn’t stop the clock to allow the chains to move back. And we just had to go ahead and call the play.’’

Griffin did complete a 6-yard pass to Garcon on fourth and 1, but safety Will Hill stripped the ball. The Giants then ran out the clock.

You have reached the limit of 10 free articles in a month

Stay informed with unlimited access to Boston’s trusted news source.

  • High-quality journalism from the region’s largest newsroom
  • Convenient access across all of your devices
  • Today’s Headlines daily newsletter
  • Subscriber-only access to exclusive offers, events, contests, eBooks, and more
  • Less than 25¢ a week