You can now read 5 articles in a month for free on Read as much as you want anywhere and anytime for just 99¢.

Back-to-back points titles for Blackhawks?

Chicago Blackhawks players celebrate after beating Nashville Dec. 17.

Mark Humphrey/AP

Chicago Blackhawks players celebrate after beating Nashville Dec. 17.

The defending champion Blackhawks are almost halfway to becoming the seventh team to win the Presidents’ Trophy in back-to-back seasons.

But none of the previous six teams claimed two titles, and only three won even one championship.

Continue reading below

Team, points, playoff result

1985-86 Oilers, 119, Lost division finals to Flames

1986-87 Oilers, 106, Won Stanley Cup over Flyers


1987-88 Flames, 105, Lost division finals to Oilers

1988-89 Flames, 117, Won Stanley Cup over Canadiens


1994-95 Red Wings, 70, Lost Cup Final to Devils

1995-96 Red Wings, 131, Lost conference finals to Avalanche


1997-98 Stars, 109, Lost conference finals to Red Wings

1998-99 Stars, 114, Won Stanley Cup over Sabres


2003-04 Red Wings, 109, Lost conference semis to Flames

2005-06 Red Wings, 124, Lost conference quarters to Oilers


2010-11 Canucks, 117, Lost Cup Final to Bruins

2011-12 Canucks, 111, Lost conference quarters to Kings

Loading comments...
Want each day's news headlines delivered fresh to your
inbox every morning? Just connect with us
in one of the following ways:
Please enter a valid email will never post anything without asking.
Privacy Policy
Subscriber Log In

You have reached the limit of 5 free articles in a month

Stay informed with unlimited access to Boston’s trusted news source.

  • High-quality journalism from the region’s largest newsroom
  • Convenient access across all of your devices
  • Today’s Headlines daily newsletter
  • Subscriber-only access to exclusive offers, events, contests, eBooks, and more
  • Less than 25¢ a week
Marketing image of
Marketing image of