Read as much as you want on BostonGlobe.com, anywhere and anytime, for just 99¢.

Bruins Live

1

0

1st Intermission

Patriots’ 2014 schedule includes five night games

Tom Brady: The Patriots knew their opponents for 2014, and now they know the order in which they will face them in 2014.

Matthew J. Lee/Globe staff

Tom Brady: The Patriots knew their opponents for 2014, and now they know the order in which they will face them in 2014.

The Patriots learned they will play five night games on national television in the 2014 season following the NFL’s release of the schedules for all teams on Wednesday.

They open at Miami Sunday, Sept. 7. Their home opener will be against Oakland Sunday, Sept. 21, and a highly anticipated rematch with the Denver Broncos will be on Sunday, Nov. 2 at 4:25 p.m.

Continue reading below

The Patriots’ prime-time games will be against the Chiefs in Week 4, Bengals in Week 5, Jets in Week 7, Colts in Week 11, and Chargers in Week 14.

The full Patriots schedule for 2014 is as follows (TV):

Sunday, Sept. 7 at Miami, 1 p.m. (CBS)

Sunday, Sept. 14 at Minnesota, 1 p.m. (CBS)

Sunday, Sept. 21 vs. Oakland, 1 p.m. (CBS)

Monday, Sept. 29 at Kansas City, 8:30 p.m. (ESPN)

Sunday, Oct. 5 vs. Cincinnati, 8:30 p.m. (NBC)

Sunday, Oct. 12 at Buffalo, 1 p.m. (CBS)

Thursday, Oct. 16 vs. New York Jets, 8:25 p.m. (CBS, NFL Network)

Sunday, Oct. 26 vs. Chicago, 1 p.m. (FOX)

Sunday, Nov. 2 vs. Denver, 4:25 p.m. (CBS)

Sunday, Nov. 9 bye week

Sunday, Nov. 16 at Indianapolis, 8:30 p.m. (NBC)

Sunday, Nov. 23 vs. Detroit, 1 p.m. (FOX)

Sunday, Nov. 30 at Green Bay, 4:25 p.m. (CBS)

Sunday, Dec. 7 at San Diego, 8:30 p.m. (NBC)

Sunday, Dec. 14 vs. Miami, 1 p.m. (CBS)

Sunday, Dec. 21 at New York Jets, 1 p.m. (CBS)

Sunday, Dec. 28 vs. Buffalo, 1 p.m. (CBS)

The Patriots’ 2014 opponents had a combined record of 131-123-2 in 2013. They are 10th on the NFL’s strength of schedule index. The Raiders are first, Broncos second, and Rams third.

The NFL season opens with the Super Bowl champion Seahawks hosting the Green Bay Packers on Thursday, Sept. 4 at 8:30 p.m. Click here for the full NFL schedule.

NFL.com reported on Wednesday the league has adjusted its flex scheduling to allow up to two Sunday games between Weeks 5 and 10 to be moved into the Sunday Night Football slot. Beginning in Week 11, the league can flex any Sunday game into the night game.

Three London games had been previously announced — Raiders-Dolphins Sept. 28, Falcons-Lions Oct. 26, and Cowboys-Jaguars Nov. 9.

The NFL Draft will be held May 8-10 in New York.

Follow Matt Pepin on Twitter at @mattpep15.
Loading comments...

You have reached the limit of 5 free articles in a month

Stay informed with unlimited access to Boston’s trusted news source.

  • High-quality journalism from the region’s largest newsroom
  • Convenient access across all of your devices
  • Today’s Headlines daily newsletter
  • Subscriber-only access to exclusive offers, events, contests, eBooks, and more
  • Less than 25¢ a week