Celtics will start summer league play July 5

The Celtics will begin their Orlando summer league schedule July 5 against the Oklahoma City Thunder at the Magic’s practice facility.

The Celtics will be joined by the Thunder, Pistons, Magic, 76ers, Grizzlies, Rockets, Nets, Heat, and Pacers in a four-game round-robin schedule plus a championship game July 11.

The Celtics schedule:


Saturday, July 5, vs. Oklahoma City, 11 a.m.

Get Breaking Sports Alerts in your inbox:
Be the first to know the latest sports news as it happens.
Thank you for signing up! Sign up for more newsletters here

Monday, July 7, vs. Indiana, 3 p.m.

Wednesday, July 9, vs. Detroit, 7 p.m.

Thursday, July 10, vs. Orlando, 5 p.m.

Friday, July 11, championship day, TBA


Here are the summer league rules:

Four 10-minute quarters.

10-minute halftime.

 Five full timeouts per team per game.

 Two one-minute mandatory TV timeouts per quarter on dead ball at 5:59 and again at 2:59.


 Maximum of three full timeouts to be used in fourth quarter per team.

 One 20-second timeout per team per half.

 Three-minute overtime period, if necessary.

One full timeout and one 20-second timeout per overtime period per team.

 Teams will be in the penalty on the fifth team foul of each quarter.

 Teams will be in the penalty in overtime on the third team foul.

No foul-out rule; for each personal foul in excess of six, the opposing team receives two free throws. For each personal foul in excess of 10, the opposing team receives two free throws and the ball.

10-minute warm-up/intermission between games.