You can now read 5 articles in a month for free on Read as much as you want anywhere and anytime for just 99¢.

Globe honors outstanding local scholar-athletes

Globe sports editor Joe Sullivan (back left) and Bob Holmes (back right) pose with athletes honored Sunday.

jessica rinaldi/globe staff

Globe sports editor Joe Sullivan (back left) and Bob Holmes (back right) pose with athletes honored Sunday.

The best and brightest of Massachusetts high school sports were honored Sunday at the Globe’s annual Scholar-Athlete ceremony.

Fourteen Boston Globe/Richard Phelps Scholar-Athletes, along with the Globe’s Athletes of the Year, received their awards for a year’s worth of success in the classroom and in athletics. The Scholar-Athletes each receive a $3,000 scholarship. Richard Phelps, president of Phelps Industries in Wakefield, partners with the Globe in the award.

Continue reading below

“I am sure that wherever your career path takes you, your athletic endeavors in retrospect will be of great joy to you,” said Phelps. “You will, I am sure, remember the wins and losses, but, more importantly, I am sure you will remember most of all the friendships made on the athletic fields.’’

The 14 scholar-athletes were divided among six MIAA districts and the city of Boston. The winners were:

District A: Dillon Guthro, Newburyport, and Caitlin Harty, Beverly.

Continue reading it below

District B: Shane Farley, Burlington, and Rachael Mara, Wilmington.

District C: Andrew Bolze, Harvard, and Lexi Quirk, Needham.

District D: Colby Blaze, Barnstable, and Abigail McNulty, Bishop Feehan.

District E: Julia Rembetsy-Brown, Oakmont, and Anthony Rentsch, Worcester Doherty.

District H: Jennie Mucciarone, St. Mary’s, and Nick Seymour, Marian.

Boston: Yonetta Harris, O’Bryant, and Mehki Williams, O’Bryant.

The day concluded with the announcement of the 2013-14 Globe Athletes of the Year. The public school awards were renamed in Will McDonough’s memory after his passing in 2003 and the male winner was Needham’s Mike Panepinto (lacrosse, football). The female winner was Sandwich’s Maggie Layo (field hockey, ice hockey). NEPSAC awards were presented to a pair of three-sport athletes, with the male athlete of the year going to Charlie Mitchell of the Waring School and the female award going to Nobles’s Lauren Dillon.

Bob Holmes can be reached at
Loading comments...
Want each day's news headlines delivered fresh to your
inbox every morning? Just connect with us
in one of the following ways:
Please enter a valid email will never post anything without asking.
Privacy Policy
Subscriber Log In

You have reached the limit of 5 free articles in a month

Stay informed with unlimited access to Boston’s trusted news source.

  • High-quality journalism from the region’s largest newsroom
  • Convenient access across all of your devices
  • Today’s Headlines daily newsletter
  • Subscriber-only access to exclusive offers, events, contests, eBooks, and more
  • Less than 25¢ a week
Marketing image of
Marketing image of