John Havlicek headlines College Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2015

John Havlicek with the Celtics in 1974.


John Havlicek with the Celtics in 1974.

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — Former Celtics John Havlicek, Charlie Scott, and Quinn Buckner are among eight new members of the College Basketball Hall of Fame.

The latest group of honorees was revealed Tuesday during a news conference at the College Basketball Experience in downtown Kansas City.


Havlicek, who played on eight Celtics championship teams, was an All-American at Ohio State and won a national championship with the Buckeyes in 1960. He already is in the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame.

Scott, who played 2½ seasons in Boston (1975-78), was a two-time All-American at North Carolina (1969-70) and played in two Final Fours.

Get Sports Headlines in your inbox:
The Globe's most recent sports headlines delivered to your inbox every morning.
Thank you for signing up! Sign up for more newsletters here

Buckner, who was a Celtic for three seasons (1982-85), starred at Indiana University from 1972-76 under coach Bobby Knight. The 1975-76 Hoosiers team went undefeated and won the national championship.

The others in the Class of 2015 are Illinois coach Lou Henson, Kansas State star Rolando Blackman, Dayton coach Don Donoher, Langston coach C. Felton ‘‘Zip’’ Gayles, and Long Beach State star Ed Ratleff.

The induction ceremony will take place Nov. 20 at the Arvest Bank Theatre in Kansas City.

Loading comments...
Real journalists. Real journalism. Subscribe to The Boston Globe today.