Dwight Howard not first Lakers big man to struggle

Dwight Howard is the latest in an imposing line of 7-footers to be acquired by the Lakers, and he has struggled this season (averaging 16.5 points and 11.9 rebounds, both below his career numbers). However, there is still hope — none of his predecessors won the NBA title in their first season in LA, but they all won at least one championship down the road.


Wilt Chamberlain

From 76ers

Malcolm W. Emmons/Getty Images

First season (1968-69)

20.5 ppg, 21.1 rpg, lost NBA Finals

Rest of stay (four years)

16.7 ppg, 18.7 rpg, won 1 NBA title

Kareem Abdul-Jabbar

From Bucks

George Gojkovich/Getty Images

First season (1975-76)

27.7 ppg, 16.9 rpg, 6th in Western Conf.

Rest of stay (13 years)

21.7 ppg, 8.8 rpg, won 5 NBA titles

Shaquille O'Neal

From Magic

Lucy Nicholson/Getty Images

First season (1996-97)

26.2 ppg, 12.5 rpg, lost in West semis

Rest of stay (seven years)

27.1 ppg, 11.8 rpg, won 3 NBA titles

Pau Gasol

From Grizzlies

Stephen Dunn/Getty Images

First season (2007-08)

18.8 ppg, 7.8 rpg, lost NBA Finals

Rest of stay (in his fifth year)

17.8 ppg, 10.1 rpg, won 2 NBA titles

Real journalists. Real journalism. Subscribe to The Boston Globe today.