Next Score View the next score


    Clerk releases names of candidates

    Town Clerk Maria Sagarino has released the names of the candidates for local office. Voters will decide several contested races during the April 2 town election. Four candidates are vying for two seats on the Board of Selectmen: Incumbents John F. Depinto of Rebecca Lane and Frank A. Vallarelli of Birch Street will face challengers Shelly A. MacNeill of Beacon Street and John Warren of Dean Street. Three candidates are in the race for School Committee, which has one open seat: Incumbent Jeanne E. Craigie of Duncklee Avenue faces challengers Caroline Colarusso of Patrick Circle and Julianne Desimone of Longbow Road. Two residents are competing for the post of moderator: Incumbent Lawrence M. Means of Victoria Lane will face challenger F. John Carino of Rebecca Lane. And two candidates are seeking a term on the Board of Assessors: Incumbent Anthony C. Kennedy of Janice Lane will face challenger Michael J. Rotondi of Franklin Place. Voters will also be asked to accept the Community Preservation Act, which would establish a fund for creating and preserving open space, historic resources, community housing, and land for recreational use, such as parks, playgrounds, and athletic fields. The fund would be created by adding a surcharge of 1 percent to the annual property tax levy against real property, beginning in fiscal year 2014, which starts on July 1, 2013.