Next Score View the next score

    2015 Boys’ Hockey All-Scholastics

    Watertown’s Anthony Busconi (30) gave up just five goals in the Super 8 tournament.
    Jim Davis/Globe Staff
    Watertown’s Anthony Busconi (30) gave up just five goals in the Super 8 tournament.

    Super Team

    Anthony Busconi, Watertown

    Busconi anchored the Watertown defense in net, leading his team to a Division 3 crown. The senior, with five shutouts on the season, allowed only five goals in the six-game tournament run. Busconi is a St. Anselm lacrosse commit.

    Matthew Filipe, Malden Catholic

    Filipe led Malden Catholic to a fifth consecutive Super 8 final appearance. The junior scored 16 goals and had 21 assists for the Lancers. Filipe, a Northeastern hockey commit, was named Catholic Conference co-MVP.

    John Leonard, Springfield Cathedral

    Leonard propelled Cathedral to a Super 8 semifinal appearance after an undefeated regular season. The junior led the Panthers with 75 points and had the most goals and points in Division 1. Leonard will play hockey at UMass.

    Cam Russo, Austin Prep


    Russo is a three-time Catholic Central All-Star and was named league MVP this year. The senior had 12 goals and 14 assists, leading Austin Prep to the Super 8 semis. Last year he helped take the Cougars to the Super 8 final.

    Michael Saleski, Hingham

    Get Sports Headlines in your inbox:
    The most recent sports headlines delivered to your inbox every morning.
    Thank you for signing up! Sign up for more newsletters here

    Saleski led Hingham to a Division 1 state title this year. The senior defenseman had four goals and 14 assists as the Harbormen defeated Arlington Catholic for the championship. Saleski, Hingham’s captain, is also an honor roll student.

    Ryan Shea, BC High

    Shea is a Globe Super Teamer for the second year in a row. The junior defenseman had five goals and 32 assists this season. Shea, a Northeastern hockey commit, has 84 career points, and was Catholic Conference co-MVP this season.


    Peter Crinella, Springfield Cathedral, senior

    A repeat All-Scholastic, Crinella was a catalyst for the dynamic Cathedral attack. The senior scored 17 goals and registered 19 assists for the Panthers, as they reached the Super 8 semifinals. Crinella is a Holy Cross commit.

    Matt DeMelis, Hingham, sophomore

    DeMelis led Hingham to a Division 1 championship. The sophomore scored 17 goals and had 29 assists to lead the team in points. In his two seasons, DeMelis has accumulated 55 points. He is also a high honors student.

    Patrick Kramer, BC High, senior


    Kramer has led the Eagles to three Super 8 appearances, this year scoring 19 goals and adding 17 assists. The senior, a Merrimack hockey commit, helped lead the Cape Cod Whalers U-18 team to a national tournament berth.

    Ken Mackin, Westwood, senior

    Mackin led Westwood to a Division 2 state title. He netted a goal and dished two assists to propel the Wolverines in the title game. The senior captain had 30 goals and 20 assists, bringing his career points total to 140.

    Kyle Martin, St. John’s Prep, junior

    Martin was strong in net to lead St. John’s Prep to its first Super 8 championship, finishing with a .914 save percentage and 2.04 goals-against average. Martin had 35 saves and allowed only one goal in the championship game.

    Jack Maxwell, Wellesley, senior

    Maxwell only allowed 14 goals this season, finishing with a goals- against average of 0.70 and save percentage of .970. Maxwell had nine shutouts in leading Wellesley to a 15-3-4 record and was named MVP of the Bay State Herget.

    Evan McDonald, Woburn, junior

    McDonald led Woburn to a Super 8 appearance and was named Middlesex Liberty MVP. He had 19 goals and 11 assists and was a key component of the Tanners’ attack. He also helped Woburn win a league title.

    John McLean, Malden Catholic, senior


    McLean helped lead Malden Catholic to a fifth consecutive Super 8 final. The senior had two goals and 15 assists as the Lancers won the Catholic Conference. The four-year varsity player was part of three Super 8 title teams.

    D.J. Petruzzelli, Cathedral (Springfield), senior

    Petruzzelli led Cathedral to the Super 8 semifinals after an undefeated regular season. The senior scored 21 goals and led the team with 46 assists. A Quinnipiac hockey commit, Petruzzelli ends his career with 147 points.

    Tyler Scearbo, St. John’s Prep, senior

    Scearbo led St. John’s Prep to its first Super 8 championship, contributing two assists in the final against Malden Catholic. The senior led the team with 30 points this season. In 45 career games, Scearbo totaled 41 points.

    Ryan Smith, Arlington Catholic, senior

    Smith led Arlington Catholic to a Division 1 championship appearance. The senior was the leading scorer for the Cougars with 19 goals and 38 points. An honor roll student, Smith finished his career with 101 points.

    Ryan Spillane, Franklin, senior

    Spillane’s overtime goal against Xaverian gave Franklin a Super 8 berth. The senior led the Panthers with 23 goals and 41 points. A two-time Hockomock All-Star, he was league MVP this year. He ends his career with 84 points.

    Coaches of the Year

    Kristian Hanson

    Division 1A: St. John’s Prep

    The 1994 alumnus guided St. John’s Prep to its first Super 8 title. The Eagles ended the season on a 10-game winning streak that culminated in the dethroning of four-time Super 8 champion Malden Catholic.

    Tony Messina

    Division 1: Hingham

    Messina coached Hingham to a Division 1 state title. The seventh-year coach will receive the NIHOA’s Coach of the Year Award. Coaching an independent school, Messina challenges the Harbormen by scheduling top opposition.

    Michael Welby

    Division 2: Westwood

    Welby coached the Wolverines to a Division 2 State championship. Westwood finished the season 20-2-2 and won the Tri-Valley League. A Westwood graduate, Welby has been coaching for 14 years.

    Jim Casagrande

    Division 3: Norwell

    Casagrande coached Norwell to a 21-2-3 record, a South Shore League championship, and a Division 3 state semifinal appearance. Casagrande has been coaching the Clippers for seven years and has a career record of 144-105-30.