fb-pixel Skip to main content
Bruins

Bruins will kick off 2021-22 season at home against the Stars Oct. 16

The Bruins' six-game homestand in January is their longest of the season.
The Bruins' six-game homestand in January is their longest of the season.John Tlumacki/Globe Staff

The Bruins will open the 2021-22 season on Saturday, Oct. 16, against the Dallas Stars at TD Garden, the first of 41 home games, provided the 82-game season is not interrupted again by the COVID-19 pandemic.

Due in part to a three-week Olympic break Feb. 2-23, the schedule again is very compressed, with the Bruins playing approximately one-third of their games (28 in total) in 14 back-to-back pairings, the first of which will be Oct. 24 (home with San Jose) and Oct. 25 (at Carolina).

The league schedule was released Thursday, with start times and television schedule to be announced in the coming days.

Advertisement



Some of the other highlights of the schedule:

▪ The Bruins will play 16 games over 30 days in January‚ their busiest month. They’ll play 15 times over 31 days in March.

▪ Their highly popular post-Thanksgiving game at the Garden, Friday, Nov. 26, will be against the Rangers. Typically it is a matinee.

▪ They face the Islanders Dec. 15 at the Fishsticks’ flashy new home adjacent Belmont Park. It will be their first matchup on Long Island since bowing out to Isles at Nassau Coliseum in Game 6, Round 2 of the playoffs in June.

▪ The Black-and-Gold’s first stop in Montreal will be Dec. 18, but they’ll first face the Habs in Boston Sunday, Nov. 14.

▪ The perennial Christmas break again will be Dec. 24-26. The Avalanche will be in town Dec. 23, followed by the Penguins at the Garden Dec. 27.

▪ The Lightning, the back-to-back Cup champs, will host the Bruins at Amalie Arena Jan. 8. The first visit here by the Bolts will be Saturday, Dec. 4.

The Tampa Bay Lightning will visit Boston twice during the 2021-22 season--Dec. 4 and March 24.
The Tampa Bay Lightning will visit Boston twice during the 2021-22 season--Dec. 4 and March 24.Phelan M. Ebenhack/Associated Press

▪ Boston’s last game prior to the Olympic break will be a Feb. 1 visit by the expansion Seattle Kraken and the Bruins will follow the break with a rematch in Seattle Feb. 24.

Advertisement



▪ The game in Seattle will kick off the club’s longest road trip of the season, with stops in San Jose (Feb. 26), Los Angeles (Feb. 28), Anaheim (March 1), Vegas (March 3) and Columbus (March 5).

▪ The Bruins will close out the regular season Friday, April 29, in Toronto.

The NHL has yet to finalize plans with the IOC to send its players to Beijing for the 2022 Olympics. If the deal can’t be closed, it’s possible the schedule will be revised following games of Feb. 1.

BOSTON BRUINS 2021-22 REGULAR SEASON SCHEDULE:

Timing and broadcast information will be announced by the NHL at a later date

OCTOBER:

Saturday, October 16 vs. Dallas

Wednesday, October 20 @ Philadelphia

Friday, October 22 @ Buffalo

Sunday, October 24 vs. San Jose

Monday, October 25 @ Carolina

Wednesday, October 27 @ Florida

Saturday, October 30 vs. Florida

NOVEMBER:

Thursday, November 4 vs. Detroit

Saturday, November 6 @ Toronto

Tuesday, November 9 vs. Ottawa

Thursday, November 11 vs. Edmonton

Saturday, November 13 @ New Jersey

Sunday, November 14 vs. Montreal

Saturday, November 20 @ Philadelphia

Sunday, November 21 vs. Calgary

Wednesday, November 24 @ Buffalo

Friday, November 26 vs. N.Y. Rangers

Sunday, November 28 vs. Vancouver

Tuesday, November 30 vs. Carolina

DECEMBER:

Thursday, December 2 @ Nashville

Saturday, December 4 vs. Tampa Bay

Wednesday, December 8 @ Vancouver

Thursday, December 9 @ Edmonton

Saturday, December 11 @ Calgary

Tuesday, December 14 vs. Vegas

Wednesday, December 15 @ N.Y. Islanders

Advertisement



Saturday, December 18 @ Montreal

Sunday, December 19 @ Ottawa

Tuesday, December 21 vs. Detroit

Thursday, December 23 vs. Colorado

Monday, December 27 vs. Pittsburgh

Wednesday, December 29 @ Ottawa

JANUARY:

Saturday, January 1 vs. Buffalo

Sunday, January 2 @ Detroit

Tuesday, January 4 vs. New Jersey

Thursday, January 6 vs. Minnesota

Saturday, January 8 @ Tampa Bay

Monday, January 10 @ Washington

Wednesday, January 12 @ Montreal

Thursday, January 13 vs. Philadelphia

Saturday, January 15 vs. Nashville

Tuesday, January 18 vs. Carolina

Thursday, January 20 vs. Washington

Saturday, January 22 vs. Winnipeg

Monday, January 24 vs. Anaheim

Wednesday, January 26 @ Colorado

Friday, January 28 @ Arizona

Sunday, January 30 @ Dallas

FEBRUARY:

Tuesday, February 1 vs. Seattle

Thursday, February 24 @ Seattle

Saturday, February 26 @ San Jose

Monday, February 28 @ Los Angeles

MARCH:

Tuesday, March 1 @ Anaheim

Thursday, March 3 @ Vegas

Saturday, March 5 @ Columbus

Monday, March 7 vs. Los Angeles

Thursday, March 10 vs. Chicago

Saturday, March 12 vs. Arizona

Tuesday, March 15 @ Chicago

Wednesday, March 16 @ Minnesota

Friday, March 18 @ Winnipeg

Monday, March 21 vs. Montreal

Tuesday, March 22 @ N.Y. Islanders

Thursday, March 24 vs. Tampa Bay

Saturday, March 26 vs. N.Y. Islanders

Tuesday, March 29 vs. Toronto

Thursday, March 31 vs. New Jersey

APRIL:

Saturday, April 2 vs. Columbus

Monday, April 4 @ Columbus

Tuesday, April 5 @ Detroit

Friday, April 8 @ Tampa Bay

Sunday, April 10 @ Washington

Tuesday, April 12 vs. St. Louis

Advertisement



Thursday, April 14 vs. Ottawa

Saturday, April 16 vs. Pittsburgh

Tuesday, April 19 @ St. Louis

Thursday, April 21 @ Pittsburgh

Saturday, April 23 vs. N.Y. Rangers

Sunday, April 24 @ N.Y. Rangers

Tuesday, April 26 vs. Florida

Thursday, April 28 vs. Buffalo

Friday, April 29 @ Toronto


Kevin Paul Dupont can be reached at kevin.dupont@globe.com. Follow him on Twitter @GlobeKPD.