You can now read 5 articles in a month for free on Read as much as you want anywhere and anytime for just 99¢.

Album review | NOISE ROCK

Nothing, ‘Guilty of Everything’

The roaring innocence of the rock that Gen-Xers wedged between themselves and adulthood, and the ecstatic indifference at the heart of its howl, were — among so many other things — lost with the towers. It’s an attitude recalled and reinvigorated by Philadelphia four-piece Nothing. “Guilty of Everything” will get a lot of press pointed at singer/guitarist Domenic Palermo’s back story, including his two-year stint in prison for a 2002 stabbing; but his bio isn’t necessary to pick up on how Nothing repurposes the past into a bearable present. The 40 minutes of “Guilty” are a storm of shoegaze, noise-rock, and slow-core, surging together into something lovely and lethal. “Dig” sports Yo La harmonies, a yowling Swirlies breakdown, and a Hum-loving stop/start chunkiness. And “Beat Around the Bush” is both restless and mantric, like an uneasy dream. Throughout, Palermo’s hanging whispers play at prayer; if there’s anything to wick from his past it’s that there’s some salvation in sound, and here a lost spirit is aptly recaptured. (Out Tuesday)



Loading comments...

Wake up with today's top stories.

Want each day's news headlines delivered fresh to your
inbox every morning? Just connect with us
in one of the following ways:
Please enter a valid email will never post anything without asking.
Privacy Policy
Subscriber Log In

You have reached the limit of 5 free articles in a month

Stay informed with unlimited access to Boston’s trusted news source.

  • High-quality journalism from the region’s largest newsroom
  • Convenient access across all of your devices
  • Today’s Headlines daily newsletter
  • Subscriber-only access to exclusive offers, events, contests, eBooks, and more
  • Less than 25¢ a week
Marketing image of
Marketing image of