Next Score View the next score

    Where the states stand on gay marriage

    Globe File/2004

    Jurisdictions that license marriage for same-sex couples: Connecticut, District of Columbia, Iowa, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, and Vermont

    States that recognize marriages of same-sex couples in whole or in part: All of the above, and California, Maryland, New Mexico, Rhode Island

    States with civil unions or registered domestic partnerships providing a separate “equivalent” relationship: California, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Nevada, New Jersey, Oregon, Rhode Island, Washington


    States with limited state-wide Protections for same-sex couples: Colorado, Maine, Maryland, Wisconsin

    Get Talking Points in your inbox:
    An afternoon recap of the day’s most important business news, delivered weekdays.
    Thank you for signing up! Sign up for more newsletters here

    States with November ballot measures allowing the freedom for same-sex couples to marry: Maine, Maryland, Washington

    States with cases seeking the freedom to marry in state courts: New Jersey

    States with cases seeking the freedom to marry in federal court: California, Hawaii, Indiana, Nevada

    States with November ballot measures to forbid same-sex marriage: Minnesota


    Most recent state to forbid any form of relationship recognition for same-sex couples by constitutional amendment: North Carolina (May 2012)