Margaret Atwood receives Franz Kafka award in Prague

Photo by Thomas Lohnes/Getty Images

Margaret Atwood.

By Associated Press

PRAGUE — Canadian novelist and poet Margaret Atwood has been awarded the Franz Kafka Prize.

An international jury selected Atwood in May as the winner of the annual literary award, which is handed out by the Prague-based Franz Kafka Society.


Atwood was in Prague on Tuesday to receive the award, a small statue of Kafka by Czech artist Jaroslav Rona and a cash prize of $10,000.

Choose an option to keep reading.
I'm a subscriber
Oops... Something broke.

The prize is awarded to ‘‘authors whose works of exceptional artistic qualities are found to appeal to readers regardless of their origin, nationality and culture.’’

Atwood has written more than 40 books of fiction, including “The Handmaid’s Tale,” “Alias Grace,” “Cat’s Eye,” and “The Robber Bride.” She is also known for her poetry and essays.

She’s the 17th recipient of the award. Past winners include American Philip Roth, Austrian novelist, playwright and poet Elfriede Jelinek, British playwright Harold Pinter and Japanese novelist Haruki Murakami.