Next Score View the next score

    Margaret Atwood receives Franz Kafka award in Prague

    FRANKFURT AM MAIN, GERMANY - OCTOBER 15: Guest applaud Margaret Atwood during the 'Peace Prize of the German Book Trade' ceremony of German Publishers and Booksellers Association, at St. Paul's Church (Paulskirche) on October 15, 2017 in Frankfurt am Main, Germany. The Board of Trustees of the Peace Prize of the German Book Trade has chosen the Canadian author, essayist and poet Margaret Atwood to be the recipient of this year's Peace Prize. The Peace Prize has been awarded since 1950 and is endowed with a sum of 25,000 Euro. (Photo by Thomas Lohnes/Getty Images)
    Photo by Thomas Lohnes/Getty Images
    Margaret Atwood.

    PRAGUE — Canadian novelist and poet Margaret Atwood has been awarded the Franz Kafka Prize.

    An international jury selected Atwood in May as the winner of the annual literary award, which is handed out by the Prague-based Franz Kafka Society.

    Atwood was in Prague on Tuesday to receive the award, a small statue of Kafka by Czech artist Jaroslav Rona and a cash prize of $10,000.


    The prize is awarded to ‘‘authors whose works of exceptional artistic qualities are found to appeal to readers regardless of their origin, nationality and culture.’’

    Get The Weekender in your inbox:
    The Globe's top picks for what to see and do each weekend, in Boston and beyond.
    Thank you for signing up! Sign up for more newsletters here

    Atwood has written more than 40 books of fiction, including “The Handmaid’s Tale,” “Alias Grace,” “Cat’s Eye,” and “The Robber Bride.” She is also known for her poetry and essays.

    She’s the 17th recipient of the award. Past winners include American Philip Roth, Austrian novelist, playwright and poet Elfriede Jelinek, British playwright Harold Pinter and Japanese novelist Haruki Murakami.