You can now read 5 articles in a month for free on Read as much as you want anywhere and anytime for just 99¢.


Inaugural winners of Kennedy drama prize

Dan O’Brien

Dan O’Brien

Jenny Graham/Columbia University, via AP

Robert Schenkkan

Dan O’Brien’s ‘‘The Body of an American’’ and Robert Schenkkan’s ‘‘All the Way’’ are the inaugural winners of a new theater award honoring the late Senator Ted Kennedy. Columbia University announced Friday the two playwrights will share the award — and the $100,000 prize. Officially called The Edward M. Kennedy Prize for Drama Inspired by American History, the award honors a new play or musical exploring US history and issues of the day. Schenkkan’s play begins in November 1963 with Lyndon B. Johnson’s rise to the presidency after the assassination of Kennedy’s brother John F. Kennedy, and ends a year later with Johnson’s win over Barry Goldwater. O’Brien’s play was inspired by the experiences of Paul Watson, who won a Pulitzer for a 1993 photo of a dead US Army Ranger dragged through the streets of Somalia’s capital.

Loading comments...
Want each day's news headlines delivered fresh to your
inbox every morning? Just connect with us
in one of the following ways:
Please enter a valid email will never post anything without asking.
Privacy Policy
Subscriber Log In

You have reached the limit of 5 free articles in a month

Stay informed with unlimited access to Boston’s trusted news source.

  • High-quality journalism from the region’s largest newsroom
  • Convenient access across all of your devices
  • Today’s Headlines daily newsletter
  • Subscriber-only access to exclusive offers, events, contests, eBooks, and more
  • Less than 25¢ a week
Marketing image of
Marketing image of