The Chlotrudis Society announces its nominees

Kyle Chandler (left) and Casey Affleck in “Manchester by the Sea,” which has been nominated for five Chlotrudis Awards by the Boston-based Chlotrudis Society.
Kyle Chandler (left) and Casey Affleck in “Manchester by the Sea,” which has been nominated for five Chlotrudis Awards by the Boston-based Chlotrudis Society.Claire Folger/Amazon Studios and Roadside Attractions

The Boston-based Chlotrudis Society for Independent Film released the list of nominees for its 23rd annual Chlotrudis Awards on Monday.

The awards ceremony, which will be held at the Brattle Theatre on March 19, honors independent films that are meaningful to audiences. On this list, there’s no “La La Land,” but there’s plenty of “Manchester by the Sea.”

In the best movie category, the locally-shot “Manchester” is up against “The Handmaiden,” “Little Men,” “Moonlight,” “Mountains May Depart,” and “Our Little Sister.” Casey Affleck will compete for the best actor prize with Viggo Mortensen of “Captain Fantastic,” Theo Taplitz of “Little Men,” Joel Edgerton of “Loving,” and Vincent Lindon of “The Measure of a Man.”


The Society hasn’t yet named any special guests to be honored during this year’s festivities. In 2004, Kerry Washington was given the Breakthrough Award. Character actress Beth Grant accepted the Chlotrudis Career-So-Far Award in 2010.

Last year, they organization welcomed some of the cast and crew of the movie “Tangerine.”

This year’s nominees are:

Best Movie

“The Handmaiden”

“Little Men”

“Manchester by the Sea”


“Mountains May Depart”

“Our Little Sister”

Buried Treasure

“Best Worst Thing That Ever Could Have Happened”

“The Fits”

“Free in Deed”

“Neon Bull”

“Take Me to the River”

“Under the Shadow”

Best Director

“Joe” Weerasethakul, “Cemetery of Splendor”

Kelly Reichardt, “Certain Women”

Barry Jenkins, “Moonlight”

Jia Zhangke, “Mountains May Depart”

Hirokazu Kore-eda, “Our Little Sister”

Best Actor

Viggo Mortensen, “Captain Fantastic”

Theo Taplitz, “Little Men”

Joel Edgerton, “Loving”

Casey Affleck, Manchester by the Sea”

Vincent Lindon, “The Measure of a Man”

Best Actress

Annette Bening, “20th Century Women”

Sonia Braga, “Aquarius”

Isabelle Huppert, “Elle”

Ruth Negga, “Loving”

Tao Zhao, “Mountains May Depart”

Imajyn Cardinal, “The Saver”

Best Supporting Actor

Ralph Fiennes, “A Bigger Splash”

Luis Silva, “From Afar”

Michael Barbieri, “Little Men”


Lucas Hedges, “Manchester by the Sea”

Mahershala Ali, “Moonlight”

Best Supporting Actress

Lily Gladstone, “Certain Women”

Margo Martindale, “The Hollars”

Rima Te Wiata, “Hunt for the Wilderpeople”

Paulina Garcia, “Little Men”

Michelle Williams, “Manchester by the Sea”

Naomie Harris, “Moonlight”

Best Performance by an Ensemble Cast

“Certain Women”

“Don’t Think Twice”

“Little Men”


“Our Little Sister”

Best Production Design

“Cemetery of Splendor”

“The Handmaiden”

“High Rise”


“Love & Friendship”

“Microbe and Gasoline”

Best Cinematography

Marius Panduru, “Aferim!”

Paul Yee, “Cemetery of Splendor”

Nicholas D. Knowland, “The Fits”

Chung-hoon Chung, “The Handmaiden”

Caroline Champetier, “The Innocents”

James Laxton, “Moonlight”

Best Editing

“Cemetery of Splendor”

“Eisenstein in Guanajuato”



“Mountains May Depart”

Best Use of Music in a Film

“American Honey”

“Eisenstein in Guanajuato”

“Everybody Wants Some”

“Green Room”


“Sing Street”

Best Adapted Screenplay

“Certain Women”

“A Conspiracy of Faith”

“Love & Friendship”

“A Man Called Ove”

“Our Little Sister”

“The Saver”

Best Original Screenplay


“Captain Fantastic”

“Little Men”

“The Lobster”

“Manchester by the Sea”


Best Documentary


“City of Gold”

“Miss Sharon Jones”


“Where to Invade Next”