Finalists for UMass Dartmouth chancellor announced

A search committee today announced six finalists for chancellor at the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth.

The finalists are:

-- Jonathan C. Gibralter, president of Frostburg State University in Maryland


-- Mary K. Grant, president of Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts

Get Fast Forward in your inbox:
Forget yesterday's news. Get what you need today in this early-morning email.
Thank you for signing up! Sign up for more newsletters here

-- Divina Grossman, vice president of engagement at Florida International University

-- Daniel J. Julius, vice president for academic affairs for the University of Alaska system

-- Maurice W. Scherrens, senior vice president at George Mason University

-- Jem Spectar, president of the University of Pittsburgh, Johnstown.


The new leader will replace Chancellor Jean F. MacCormack, who has led the campus since 1999 and will retire at the end of this academic year.

“We are very pleased to bring forward a slate of extremely impressive finalist candidates, any one of whom has the potential to be a dynamic new leader for UMass Dartmouth,” Maria D. Furman, a UMass trustee and chairwoman of the search committee, said in a statement.

UMass President Robert L. Caret will recommend one of the finalists to the UMass Board of Trustees, which has the final say.

UMass Dartmouth, in the southeastern corner of the state, has an enrollment of 9,432 and a full-time faculty of 375, according to the school’s website. It also houses Massachusetts’ only public law school.