Next Score View the next score

    Strong policies on abusive priests vital, O’Malley says

    With the resignation of Pope Benedict XVI, the College of Cardinals is convening to select the new leader of the Catholic Church. Use this graphic to learn more about the cardinals who will select the next pope.
    Has voting rights?
    Age range
    Is he a Vatican insider?
    Cardinal appointment
    Is he retired?
    Is he a contender?
    African with voting rights
    Boston-based cardinals
    Vatican insider contenders
    Active with voting rights
    Show all
    * Mexico is included in Latin America totals, so North American cardinals listed include only the United States and Canada. * Keith O'Brien, the Scottish cardinal who recently resigned amid sexual misconduct allegations, is not included in this graphic. * Ages of cardinals are by March 8, 2013, the earliest day the conclave is supposed to start.
    List of cardinals selected
    Cardinal since...
    The oldest
    Ersilio Tonini
    Rei Momo
    Ersilio Tonini (98)
    Cardinals over 80 are not allowed to participate in the process to elect a new Pontiff. This Italian cardinal has the honor of being the oldest living cardinal.
    The youngest
    Baselios Cleemis
    Baselios Cleemis (53)
    This member of the Syro-Manlankara Catholic Chuch of India was appointed cardinal in November 2012 by Benedict XVI. He is two-and-a-half years younger than Rainer Woelki, the next-youngest cardinal.
    The moving piece
    Walter Kasper
    Walter Kasper
    A German and Vatican insider who will turn 80 on March 5, putting him beyond the age by which he can attend a conclave. If the conclave begins March 8 or later, as is currently planned, Kasper may just miss out on the process.
    The pope
    Joseph Ratzinger
    Joseph Ratzinger / Pope Benedict XVI
    The future is unclear for the current Pope Benedict XVI. After he steps down as pope, Benedict won't be able to participate in the conclave because he is over 80 (he's 85). He will keep his name (Benedict XVI) and will be named Pope Emeritus, but won't be able to wear papal robes.

    SOURCE: Holy See Press Office, Globe Staff

    Chiqui Esteban/Globe Staff